LIBRARY
Social Justice: UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Online Library Resources
eBooks and eReference Resources
https://saintleo.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/ (includes Britannica and other encyclopedias)
CQ Press Encyclopedias -- Encyclopedia of Political Science
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Oxford Reference Collection -- Encyclopedia of Human Rights
eBooks
Human Rights at the UN : The Political History of Universal Justice by ISBN: 0253219345Publication Date: 2008
Web Resources
- United Nations UNUDHR WebsiteFull text of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Includes links.
- UN: International LawUN: Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.
THE INTERNATIONAL BILL OF HUMAN RIGHTS
THE CORE INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS INSTRUMENTS and their monitoring bodies
UNIVERSAL HUMAN RIGHTS INSTRUMENTS - Historical Record of the Drafting ProcessMeetings; Brief biographies of members of the drafting committee; More resources
- Charter of the United NationsThe Charter of the United Nations was signed on 26 June 1945, in San Francisco, at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organization, and came into force on 24 October 1945. The Statute of the International Court of Justice is an integral part of the Charter.
Print Reference Resources in the Library
- Encyclopedia of human rights byCall Number: JC571 .E67 1991Publication Date: 1991
- The core international human rights treaties byCall Number: K3238 .C67 2006Publication Date: 2006
- Human rights worldwide: a reference handbook byCall Number: JC571 .K23 2006Publication Date: 2006
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations byCall Number: KZ4968 .M66 2002Publication Date: 2002
United Nations, New York
Universal Declaration ...
"We the peoples of the United Nations [are] determined -
.. to reaffirm faith in fundamental human rights, in the dignity and worth of the human person, in the equal rights of men and women and of nations large and small." [Preamble, UN Charter ]
- universal -- all human beings are entitled to them
- equal -- no one right is more imporrtant than another, i.e. they are not ranked
- interdependent -- each right is interrelated to all the others
- no person is more of a human being than another