Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Saint Leo Community Memory Oral History Collection & Archive: Saint Leo Photos

This guide contains a collection of oral histories and archival materials related to the history of Saint Leo University and its surrounding communities since its inception in the late 19th century.

Photos without a listed source are from the Saint Leo holdings

Saint Leo College Boys, 1912 (Saint Leo Archives)

Saint Leo Campus 1942

Late 19th or Early 20th-Century, Saint Leo Military College Boys with Fr. Bernard on Right. (Herrmann family collection)

Saint Leo Abbey, old and new buildings, early 1920s

Saint Leo Prep Boys, 1960 (Yearbook Photo)

Saint Leo Prep Student Frederick Lamb with Calf, 1960 (Yearbook photo)

Fr. Felix Ullrich (Herrmann family collection)

Saint Leo College Boys with Fr. Benedict Ross, 1913

Saint Leo Military College Building. 1909 (Pioneer College)

Fr. Gerard Pilz, Saint Leo Pioneer)

1948 Banned Saint Leo Prep Yearbook Pages (Courtesy of Gordon Winslow)

1976. Lion behind DeChantal Hall, Saint Leo College. Pictured is Jennifer (Schwartz) Taaffe (St. Leo College grad) with grandmother, Nancy (McCabe) Burns Counihan (Holy Name Academy grad). Courtesy of Sarah 'Sally' Burns

1964 Corporal Punishment Saint Leo Prep (yearbook photo)

Fr. Bernard Weigl at Saint Leo, late 1920s/early 1930s. (Hermann family collection)

Saint Leo Prep Water Slide (Florida State Archives)

Saint Leo College Baseball Team, 1910

Saint Leo Military College Boys and a Monk: Dressed up to Put on a Play, 1915

  • LOC Call Number: POS - US .C511,
  • no. 2a

(C size) [P&P]

St. Francis Hall 1952 Former Classroom Building, Current Administration Building for Saint Leo University

1960. Pat Reilly who was then known as Brother Francis, OSB with Saint Leo Abbey in the background. Notice that cars could then drive through what is now a lawn. (Pat Reilly Collection)

St. Leo Monks, 1927 (Pioneer College)

St. Edward Hall, 1926. Former St. Leo Prep Dormitory, Current Faculty Offices at Saint Leo University

Original Lions at Saint Leo's Front Gate (Herrmann family collection)

Saint Leo Prep Choir, 1940s (Florida State Archives)