LIBRARY
Lincoln's Cabinet: U.S. Civil War Reference Books
Political Science and Lincoln Junkies, rejoice! A treasure trove of information awaits you.
Spotlight on the Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
The Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: REF E468 .E53 2000ISBN: 039304758X"McClellan to Lincoln (7 July 1862) Headquarters Army of the Potomac!" "Mr. President, You have been fully informed that the rebel army is in our front...." It does not get more gripping than that, folks!
5 volumes are now in one!
The Encyclopedia of the American Civil War Fact Sheet
Read the Publisher's summary of this over 2700 page volume. Over 250 primary source documents!! Remember, you can use the student copier in the library as a scanner!
- Fact SheetRead about this well-resepected Civil War resource.
Spotlight on American National Biography
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Find out where papers, manuscripts, letters, and diaries of the cabinet members are!
This set will leave you speechless! Look up all the cabinet members in this, and reap the rewards!
REF E441 - E628
Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery by Call Number: REF E441 .D53 1988ISBN: 0313238146Frederick Douglass and Emancipation Proclamation (Blair and Seward) entries. Check the index!
There are very insightful reference works that have scholarly information about your cabinet member! The reference resources give you overviews of the time period, tell you where the letters/diaries are of a particular person, have facsimiles of primary sources in them, and more!!
The American Civil War : a handbook of literature and research by Call Number: REF E456 .A437 1996ISBN: 0313290199Chapter 16 Abraham Lincoln and Chapter 18 Union Civilian Leaders! Check the Index! This book has something for everyone!!
Leaders of the American Civil War by Call Number: REF E467 .L43 1998ISBN: 1579581129We have a copy of this in Ebrary as well!. Chase, Douglass, Lincoln, McClellan, Seward and Stanton - all in one handy volume. Still, check the index for the other cabinet members!!
The Civil War and Reconstruction by Call Number: REF E468 .B319 2001ISBN: 0195115597p. 68 Salmon Chase, Union Politician; see bibliography where twp contemporary bibliography citations are given. Also, check the index!
The Civil War Dictionary by Call Number: REF E468 .B7ISBN: 0679500138Look up everyone in this comprehensive dictionary!
Historical Dictionary of the Civil War by Call Number: REF E468 .J777 2002ISBN: 08108411262 vols. Very helpful entries! Look up everyone in this! Find out the titles of the books your cabinet member wrote.- Florida A Hundred Years Ago by Call Number: REF E558 .F5I stand corrected! The index is in the front! Look up your cabinet member! "A compilation of month by month accounts of the Civil War in Florida pub. monthly during the 100th anniversary of the Civil War."
Women during the Civil War : an encyclopediaCall Number: REF E628 .H37 2004ISBN: 041593723XMary Todd Lincoln's entry is good, and some cabinet members like Bates and McClellan are mentioned in the index.
Women and the American Civil War : an annotated bibliography by Call Number: REF E628 .M355 2003ISBN: 0313321051See index for Mary Todd Lincoln and First Ladies.
Subject Guide
New York Times Index and Microfilm
- The New York Times IndexISBN: 0147-538XLibrary has bound yearly editions from Sept.1851 to 1994 collected in Reference stacks. Latest bound index: 2009.