Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Lincoln's Cabinet: Websites

Political Science and Lincoln Junkies, rejoice! A treasure trove of information awaits you.

Lincoln Websites

Lincoln and Friends, a website about Lincoln's Cabinet.

American Civil War Research and Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

American Civil War Research and Google Books

Google Book Search

Websites

Websites.

1.      The Library of Congress will have primary resources.

a.       Search in the American Memory Collection.

                                                              i.      You may find letters, Bills, and newspaper articles

2.      The National Archives will have primary resources.

a.       Images, original documents. Etc.

3.      State Archives may have some information & resources.

a.       If your person was born in NY state, try their state archives online

b. You can also browse this listing of repositories

4.      Foundations and Historical Societies with a website presence will have some primary and some seconday resources.

a.       Do a google or Yahoo search

5.      Google Books will provide some resources.

a.       Diaries are being digitized/scanned and placed online

b.      Other letters and things may also be available

6.      Google Scholar may have some citations to articles which you will then need to request from ILL.

a.       Do this after you have researched our own databases and collections!!!

Citation Websites

Archives and Special Collections

Authors and Publishers Websites