EDU 436 Writing Across the Curriculum: Original: Social Studies

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.  (A peer reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. 

EBSCO

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.  After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," select the appropriate databases below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.

Florida Electronic Library

A collection of resources for Florida residents, only accessible within the state of Florida.  Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals.  See "Teachers' Resources."

JSTOR

Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Literature Resource Center

Includes the core collection for LRC, along with these added collections: Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Poetry Criticism, and Twayne's Authors. 

Below is a sample list of books for Social Studies.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To search for a book in the library catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  If you cannot locate a book, see the HELP page for assistance.

Beaman, B. (1985). Writing to learn social studies. In A. Gere (Ed.), Roots in the sawdust: Writing to learn across the disciplines (pp. 60-71). Urbana, IL: NCTE.

Fredericks, A., Meinbach, A., & Rothlein, L. (1993). Thematic units: An integrated approach to teaching science and social studies. New York: Harper Collins.

 Writing in social studies. (1996). Upper Saddle River: Globe Fearon. (Workbook and Teacher's Manual)

Below is a sample list of e-books for Social Studies that can be read online. To search for an e-book in the catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  

• After you locate the book in the catalog, click on "View online." 
• Login in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. 
• You may use the search option in the e-book to locate specific information in the book. 
• If you cannot locate a book in the catalog, try searching directly in EBSCO ebooks or Ebrary. 

Checkley, K. (2008). Essentials of social studies, grades K-8: Effective curriculum, instruction, and assessment. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.

Levstik, L. S., Barton, K. C. (2005). Doing history: Investigating with children in elementary and middle schools. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum.

Zevin, J. (2000). Social studies for the twenty-first century: Methods and materials for teaching in middle and secondary schools. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum.

Below is a sample list of journal articles for Social Studies.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To retrieve an article from a database, use the green "Databases" box on the left.  If you cannot locate an article, see the HELP page for assistance.

Boley, T. (1990). Integrating writing in English and social studies.  New Mexico English Journal, 5(2), 11-14.

Gilstrap, R. (1991). Can writing be used to improve learning and thinking. Social Studies, 31(1), 26-32.

Moore, E. E. (1990). Writing to learn in the social studies classroom. New Mexico English Journal, 5(2), 15-18.

Below is a list of useful websites for Social Studies.  You may also want to view the list of education websites on the General Resources page: