EDU 436 Writing Across the Curriculum: Original: Language Arts

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.  (A peer reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. 

EBSCO

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.  After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," select the appropriate databases below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.

Florida Electronic Library

A collection of resources for Florida residents, only accessible within the state of Florida.  Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals.  See "Teachers' Resources."

JSTOR

Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Literature Resource Center

Includes the core collection for LRC, along with these added collections: Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Poetry Criticism, and Twayne's Authors. 

Below is a sample list of books for Language Arts.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To search for a book in the library catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  If you cannot locate a book, see the HELP page for assistance.

Atwell, N. (1987). Building a dining room table: Dialogue journals about reading. In T. Fulwiler (Ed.), The journal book (pp. 157-170). Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.

McConachie, S. (1987). Writing to learn English: Students make it work. In J. Self (Ed.), Plain talk: About learning and writing across the curriculum (pp. 77-84). Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Education.

Page, B. (1987). From passive receivers to active learners in English. In J. Self (Ed.), Plain talk: About learning and writing across the curriculum (pp. 37-50). Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Education.

Rief, L. (1992). Seeking diversity: Language arts with adolescents. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann. 

Below is a sample list of e-books for Language Arts that can be read online. To search for an e-book in the catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  

• After you locate the book in the catalog, click on "View online." 
• Login in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email.  
• You may use the search box below the Table of Contents to locate specific information in the book. 
• If you cannot locate a book in the catalog, try searching directly in EBSCO ebooks or Ebrary. 

Carter, J. (2002). Creating writers: A creative writing manual for schools. NY: Routledge Falmer.

Kingen, S. (2000). Teaching language arts in middle schools: Connecting and communicating. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum.

Thurston, C. M. (2009). Ideas that really work!: Activities for teaching English and language arts. Milford, CO: Cottonwood Press.

Below is a sample list of journal articles for Language Arts.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To retrieve an article from a database, use the green "Databases" box on the left.  If you cannot locate an article, see the HELP page for assistance.

Cooks, J.A. (2004). Writing for something: Essays, raps, and writing preferences. English Journal, 94 (1), 72-76.

Jago, C. (2003). The national writing project: A best idea from James Gray. Voices from the Middle, 10 (4), 31-32.

LeNoir, W.D. (2003). "There's nothing to eat!" A half-dozen ways to find writing ideas. English Journal, 92 (5), 25-34.

Below is a list of useful websites for Language Arts.  You may also want to view the list of education websites on the General Resources page: