EDU 436 Writing Across the Curriculum: Original: Math

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.  (A peer reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. 

EBSCO

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.  After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," select the appropriate databases below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.

Florida Electronic Library

A collection of resources for Florida residents, only accessible within the state of Florida.  Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals.  See "Teachers' Resources."

JSTOR

Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Literature Resource Center

Includes the core collection for LRC, along with these added collections: Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Poetry Criticism, and Twayne's Authors. 

Below is a sample list of books for Math.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To search for a book in the library catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  If you cannot locate a book, see the HELP page for assistance.

Azzolino, A. (1990). Writing as a tool for teaching mathematics: The silent revolution. In T. J. Cooney, & C. R. Hirsh (Eds.). Teaching and learning mathematics in the 1990's (pp. 920100). Reston, VA: NCTM.

Schmidt, D. (1995). Writing in math class.  In A. Gere (Ed.), Roots in the sawdust: Writing to learn across the disciplines (pp. 104-116). Urbana, IL: National Council of Teachers of English.

Whitin, D. J., & Wilde, S. (1992). Read any good math lately? Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann

Below is a sample list of e-books for Math that can be read online. 

• To search for an e-book in the catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  
• After you locate the book in the catalog, click on  "View online." 
• Login in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email.  
• You may use the search option in the e-book to locate specific information in the book. 
• If you cannot locate a book in the catalog, try searching directly in EBSCO ebooks or Ebrary. 

Checkley, K. (2006). The essentials of mathematics, K-6: Effective curriculum, instruction, and assessment. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Develoment.

Stein, M. K. (2000). Implementing standards-based mathematics instruction: A casebook for professional development. New York: Teachers College Press.

Below is a sample list of journal articles for Math.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To retrieve an article from a database, use the green "Databases" box on the left.  If you cannot locate an article, see the HELP page for assistance.

Mendez, B., & Taube, S. (1997) Mathematics and writing: Linking problem solving. Journal of College Reading and Learning, 27(3), 108+.

Miller, D. L. (1991). Begin mathematics class with writing.  The Mathematics Teacher. 85, 129-36.

Wilde, S. (1991). Learning to write about mathematics. Arithmetic Teacher, 38(6), 38-43.

Below is a list of useful websites for Math.  You may also want to view the list of education websites on the General Resources page: