EDU 436 Writing Across the Curriculum: Original: Science

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.  (A peer reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. 

EBSCO

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.  After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," select the appropriate databases below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.

Florida Electronic Library

A collection of resources for Florida residents, only accessible within the state of Florida.  Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals.  See "Teachers' Resources."

JSTOR

Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Literature Resource Center

Includes the core collection for LRC, along with these added collections: Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Poetry Criticism, and Twayne's Authors. 

Below is a sample list of books for Science.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To search for a book in the library catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  If you cannot locate a book, see the HELP page for assistance.

Bulman, L. (1985). Teaching language and study skills in secondary science. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.

Worsley, D., & Mayer, B. (1989). The art of science writing. New York: Teachers and Writers Collaborative. (ED 304702)

Writing in science. (1996). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Globe Fearon. (Workbook and Teacher's Manual)

. 

Below is a sample list of e-books for Science that can be read online. To search for an e-book in the catalog, click here:  OCLC Worldcat.  

• After you locate the book in the catalog, click on "View online." 
• Login in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. 
• You may use the search option in the e-book to locate specific information in the book. 
• If you cannot locate a book in the catalog, try searching directly in EBSCO ebooks or Ebrary. 

Bain, A. J., Richer, J., & Weckman, J. (2001). Life sciences: Curriculum resources and activities for school librarians and teachers.  Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited.

Douglas, R. (2006). Linking science & literacy in the K-8 classroom. Arlington, VA: National Science Teachers Association.

Hassard, J. (2005). The art of teaching science: Inquiry and innovation in middle school and high school. New York: Oxford University Press.

National Science Resources Center. (1998). Resources for teaching middle school science. Washington, DC: National Academies Press.

Swango, C. J., & Steward, S. B. (2003). Help! I'm teaching middle school science. Arlington, VA: National Science Teachers Association.

Below is a sample list of journal articles for Science.  To view the complete list, click on the Word Document icon below.  To retrieve an article from a database, use the green "Databases" box on the left.  If you cannot locate an article, see the HELP page for assistance.

Adams, R. C. (1990). Writing in science: It's all how you say it. Writing Notebook: Creative Word Processing in the Classroom, 7(4), 33.

Ammon, P., & Ammes, M. S. (1990).  Using student writing to assess and promote understanding in science. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED 316864).

Baker, W., Barstack, R., Clark, D., Hull, E., Goodman, B., Kook, J., et al. (2008). Writing-to-learn in the inquiry-science classroom: Effective strategies from middle school science and writing teachers. Clearing House: A Journal of Educational Strategies, Issues and Ideas, 81(3), 105-108. Retrieved from ERIC database.

Below is a list of useful websites for Science.  You may also want to view the list of education websites on the General Resources page: