DBA 770 Dissertation Seminar: Data Sources

The Home of the U.S. Government's Open Data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
307,331 datasets available

Learn about America's communities through data profiles. 100,000+ different geographies:
states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. cover topics like education, employment, health, and housing to name a few.

United Nations Statistics Division: Popular statistical tables, country (area) and regional profiles on topics such as population, education, health, labor markets, trade, energy, crime, communication, tourism,

Thousands of publicly available datasets on a huge variety of topics.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.

Google Trends: See what’s trending across Google Search, Google News and YouTube.
Find stories and terms people are paying attention to. Exploring your own topics.
In addition to what you see on the homepage, you can explore and gauge interest in virtually any topic, which can be useful for developing story ideas.

Welcome to the website of the Global Preferences Survey, a globally representative dataset on risk and time preferences, positive and negative reciprocity, altruism, and trust. This page describes the dataset, offers an interactive tool to compare preferences across countries, and allows you to download the questionnaires and access the data for research purposes. It also provides resources how to replicate the results of the paper “Global Evidence on Economic Preferences”, published in the Quarterly Journal of Economics. The downloadable dataset includes the variables age and gender.

Risk Indexes: At the heart of the World Risk Poll are three indexes which track risk and resilience across the world. The World Worry Index shows the countries that worry the most and least and which everyday risks they worry about. Everyday risks measured by the Poll include: severe weather, violent crime, work, food, water, road crashes and mental health issues. The Experience of Harm Index highlights the countries where citizens have the highest levels of experience of everyday risk. When compared side by side with the World Worry Index, these two indexes show that there can be considerable differences between the way people feel about risks and the actual harms they experience. The Resilience Index aims to identify the groups that are most, and least, able to manage “shocks” – instances when risks materialise into disruptive events that threaten their safety. Composed of Individual, Household, Community and Societal indicators; the Resilience Index provides a broad indicator of overall resilience, as well as differences between countries.

Discover the latest reports, which delve into the pressing challenges of land and housing security faced by communities around the globe. These comprehensive studies highlight the urgent need for action, revealing the intricate connections between land rights, climate change, and social equity. Through rigorous research and data analysis, we aim to empower policymakers and advocates with the insights necessary to foster sustainable solutions.

Financial literacy was measured using questions assessing basic knowledge of four fundamental concepts in financial decision-making: knowledge of interest rates, interest compounding, inflation, and risk diversification.

The Global Findex Database provides almost 300 indicators on topics such as account ownership, payments, saving, credit, and financial resilience. Findex data is reported for all indicators by country, region, and income group. Data is also included summarized by gender, income (adults living in the richest 60% and poorest 40% of households), labor force participation (adults in and out of the workforce), age (young and older adults), and rural and urban residence. Available indicators are reported for 2021, 2017, 2014, and 2011.

BEA produces some of the world’s most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.

31 unique datasets related to small businesses, women-owned, minority-owned, veteran-owned.

Welcome to FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data. Your trusted source for economic data since 1991.