LibGuides: Recommended Websites: Science

Science

American Institute of Physics
Center of Disease Control
Chemworld
ECHO Echo's research center catalogues, annotates, and review sires on the history of science, technology, and industry. You can browse our database of over 5,000 sites by topic, time period, publisher or content
Eric Weistein's World of Science: Collection of Web-based encyclopedias which includes astronomy, chemistry, physics. and biographies of scientists
Froguts: Frog dissection
Essays on Science and Society
General Science [index] in Wilson (must have valid ID)
Geospatial
Human Genome Project: Information sponsored by the National Institutes of Health and the U.S. Department of Energy
Merck Science: Publications and manuals from Merck
Mote Marine Research Center
National Library of Medicine
National Science Foundation (NSF)
NASA
NIH
ProQuest: Full text/images, must have valid ID
Science News for Kids and Educators
WebMD
Women and Minorities in Science and Technology

Highwire: From Stanford University provides the ability to search 436,243 full text articles from 342 science based journals. Some content is free, other content requires a fee or a subscription
American Journal of Botany
Current Research in Earth Sciences
Electronic Journal of Biotechnology
Journal of Applied Physiology index for the last 12 months; full text for older issues
Journal of Young (undergraduate) investigators
The Lancet (medical journal)
Medline (also known as PubMed)
Molecular Biology Today
News in Physiological Sciences index for last 12 months; full text for older issues
New England Journal of Medicine (abstracts only at this time)
Polymer Bulletin
Science Magazine
World Scientific: Journals Online

American Chemical Society: Founded in 1876, ACS is the world's largest scientific society
Chemguide: This site is intended for UK students working for their A-level exams in chemistry, roughly the equivalent of college-level general chemistry. Includes atomic structure and bonding, inorganic chemistry, physical chemistry, instrumental analysis, reactions, and odds and ends
Chemicool: Online interactive Periodic Table
CHMoogle.com: is an open-access chemistry search engine for tracking down chemical suppliers for specific compounds
Comics and the Periodic Table: Where comics and elements meet
Common Compounds: Online searchable database properties, structures, and information about over 800 compounds, elements, and substances encountered in introductory chemistry courses and in everyday life
Electrochemistry Dictionary: Contains 700+ definitions related to Electrochemistry
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. This website bridges the gap by placing an interlinked framework of mathematical exposition and illustrative examples at the fingertips of every internet user
General chemistry Online: Glossary of common chemistry terms
Lab Safety Institute: An international center for lab safety
Martindale Virtual Chemistry Center
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology
Problem solving strategies for mastering chemistry