Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

Recommended Websites: History & Geography

.

HISTORY & GEOGRAPHY

|  Journals & Discussion Lists for History  |  Journals & Discussion Lists for Geography  |  Primary History Sources Online  |

|  Geographic Info Systems & Other Mapping Sources  |  Northeastern United States  |  Northwestern United States & Alaska  |

|  Southeastern United States  |  Southwestern United States & Hawaii  |  Global Positioning Resources  |

Journals & Discussion Lists for History

Full text articles and indexes (login using your email ID and password) for recommended Databases

  • EBSCOHost...St Pete Times (news)
  • Proquest...Wilson
  • eHistory Bulletin articles, critical reviews of websites related to history, and book reviews
  • History in Focus: a new, occasional series taking a thematic approach to history. Each issue is designed to provide an introduction to the chosen topic & to help stimulate interest and debate
  • Jouvert: Journal of Post-Colonial Studies
  • Journal of Millennial Studies: An online journal, biannually published, created and run by the Center for Millennial Studies
  • Leeds International Classical Studies: Electronic journal that publishes articles and interim discussion papers on all aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity, and of the history of the classical tradition
  • NATO Review: The NATO Alliance's flagship magazine on current policy issues
  • Victorian Literature and Culture: Historical journal about Victorian Literature and Culture

Back to Top 

Journals and Discussion Lists for Geography 

Back to Top 

Primary History Sources Online

  • A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
  • Library of Congress American Memory Project. Letters from Presidents, Scientists, laws and legal documents of the U.S. Congress, Photographs and other materials available for viewing online 
  • Daguerrian History: Primary source photography and the Civil War/pre-Civil War in America
  • Discovering American Women's History Online: A database that simplifies access to primary sources such as photos, letters, diaries, artifacts and more which document the history of women in the United States 
  • Eurodocs: Western Europe Primary historical documents from Western Europe
  • Florida State Archives: Historically significant records of the state of Florida, as well as private manuscripts, local government records, photographs, and other materials that complement the official state records
  • Internet History Sourcebooks: Collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use
  • Library of Congress
  • Making of America: Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
  • National Archives NARA ensures, for the citizen and the public servant, fir the President and for the Congress and the Courts, ready access to essential evidence
  • New York Public Library: The collections have been organized into more than 100 major topics, ranging from “Accents and Dialects” to “Women's Studies” with others such as “Baseball,” “Computer Science,” “Gay and Lesbian Studies,” “Immigration,” “Judaica,” “Theatre,” and “U.S. History”.
  • Propaganda Postcards from WW I
  • Powers of Persuasion: Poster Art from WWII
  • Smithsonian: The Smithsonian is committed to enlarging our shared understanding of the mosaic that is our national identity by providing authoritative experiencesthat connect us to our history and our heritage as Americans and to promoting innovation, research and discovery in science
  • United States Archives: Discovering the Civil War
  • Views of the Irish Famine: A compilation of art, newspaper images, and other British publications about the famine

Back to Top 

Geographic Info Systems and Other Mapping Resources

Back to Top 

Northeastern United States

Back to Top 

Northwestern United States and Alaska

Back to Top 

Southeastern United States

  • Alabama Geological History
  • Arkansas: A gigantic U.S. Geological Survey map presented here at four different scales 
  • Florida's Geologic History: Beginning deep beneath its surface where ancient rocks indicate that Florida might once have been a part of Northwest Africa
  • Florida Geologic Survey: This publication presents the geological history of Florida and its natural resources
  • Geology of Georgia: Georgia consists of four distinct geologic regions, so it makes the most sense first to talk about those four regions separately, and then to see how they fit together. From the Northwest to the Southeast, those four regions are the Valley and Ridge, The Blue Ridge, the Piedmont, and the Coastal Plain
  • Louisiana: A simple map from the state geological survey
  • North Carolina Geology
  • South Carolina Geology
  • Tennessee Geology
  • Virginia Geology

Back to Top

Southwestern United States and Hawaii

Back to Top

Global Positioning Resources

This is a page of links containing information about the Global Positioning System (GPS) & handheld GPS units

  • GPS Tutorial: This tutorial is designed to give you a good basic understanding
  • Garmin's Introduction to GPS
  • Electronic Navigational Charts (NOAA)
  • Historic Trails Research: This site was created to provide scholarly research information on historic trails; not all historic trails within the U.S. are listed, as this is an ongoing project
  • U.S. Geological Survey (USGS): A bureau of the U.S. Department of the Interior, was established to provide a permanenet Federal agency to conduct the systematic and scientific "classification of the public lands and examination of the geological structure, mineral resources, and products of the national domain." 

Back to Top