LIBRARY
MBA 501 Online: Management Essentials: Trade Journals/Non-peer-reviewed sources
Select Non Peer-Reviewed Resources
Harvard Business Review and The Wall Street Journal are Trade Journals and are NOT peer-reviewed and NOT considered scholarly. However, they may provide information for some activities in this course. Access Harvard Business Review by going to EBSCO Business Source Complete (see the link to the database above). Then click on Publications near the top of the screen and search for Harvard Business Review to access full-text of articles. There is a one year delay on being able to access the full-text of the articles. You may access only two articles per month if you go directly to the HBR website.
Access the Wall Street Journal by going to ProQuest One Business.
Watch the video tutorial below to learn more.
Credo Reference provides access to sources that can provide basic definitions but it is NOT considered a scholarly source and it is not peer-reviewed, however, it is a credible and reliable source. (access with the links below)
- The AMA Dictionary of Business and ManagementThe AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business.
- Capstone Encyclopedia of BusinessOrganized alphabetically into entries covering the whole spectrum of business and management, including business terms, concepts, thinkers, practitioners, organizations, brands and companies.
- Collins Dictionary of BusinessCovers all the main areas of business theory and practice: marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business. Comprehensive coverage of everyday business terms.
- Dictionary of BusinessContains basic business terms that cover all aspects of business life from the office to the stock exchange and international trade fairs. The vocabulary covers all aspects of everyday business usage: office practice, buying and selling, banking, insurance, stock exchange, warehousing and distribution.
- Encyclopedia of the History of American ManagementTraces the development of management thinking and major business culture in North America.
- New Penguin Business DictionaryThis dictionary should prove useful for those pursuing business courses and for those who need to get to grips with the jargon of the business and management world. It covers all aspects of business from accounting through marketing and organizational behaviour to human resource management.
- Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Management BookFrom managing and motivating people and teams to performance management and appraisals, The Ultimate Management Book is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success.
Statista provides an amazing array of reports, graphs, charts, and data on companies, and business issues. It is not a peer-reviewed source.