Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

MBA 501 Online: Management Essentials: Article Analysis: Empirical Research

This guide is designed to help MBA 501 students in the online course.

What is Empirical Research?

uEmpirical research reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation.
uAn empirical research article typically includes the following sections:
uMethods
uResults
uDiscussion
uThe following methodologies are examples of empirical research and therefore,  primary sources; the methodology is usually included in the detailed record of an article and can be found by clicking on the title of an article in the database.
uEmpirical study
uQuantitative study
uQualitative study
 
uNote:  A "literature review" is not considered empirical research. If you read something that is more like an essay then it is not a research article. 

What is Qualitative and Quantitative research?

Quantitative Research

From Capstone Encyclopaedia of Business

 

Quantitative research is research that gives rise to statistically valid data. Quantitative market research uses sufficiently large samples to give statistically meaningful results. It differs from qualitative research in that it is more likely to use structured research instruments to gather data; the research results are usually reproducible; research is conducted on large samples, representative of the general population; the research looks less at motivation and behaviour; and analysis of results tends to be more objective. Common quantitative research techniques include surveys, observation and experimentation. For example, it may involve the use of a questionnaire that asks closed questions. Quantitative research questionnaires are often based on information derived from previously conducted qualitative research.

Quantitative research. (2003). In Capstone Press, Capstone encyclopedia of business. Wiley. Credo Reference: https://saintleo.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/capstonebus/quantitative_research/0?institutionId=796

Qualitative research

from Capstone Encyclopaedia of Business

Qualitative research is research that relies on opinions and beliefs rather than statistical data. It usually involves interviews with small sample groups from target markets. These are often conducted by a sociologist or psychologist, who endeavours to ascertain the motivation for decisions made by individuals within the group. Why, for example, does one person buy one brand of coffee instead of another? Although expensive to conduct, qualitative research enables companies to keep in touch with their customers’ needs.

The origins of qualitative research date back to Austrian psychoanalyst Ernest Dichter, who moved to the United States in the first half of the twentieth century. Dichter applied his psychology skills to marketing and used groups and in-depth interviews as qualitative methods to investigate the motivation of consumers. He set up the Institute of Motivational Studies, which opened a London office in 1959. By the 1970s, the psychoanalytical approach had made way for group discussion without the interpretation of the psychoanalyst.

The parameters of qualitative research have grown considerably since the 1970s. Qualitative research is now far removed from the original psychoanalytical approach, though it continues to draw on many aspects of psychology. It is now much broader in scope, encompassing anything that falls within the umbrella of consumer culture.

Qualitative research. (2003). In Capstone Press, Capstone encyclopedia of business. Wiley. Credo Reference: https://saintleo.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/capstonebus/qualitative_research/0?institutionId=796

Article Analysis

Article Analysis #1 and #2

  1. Choose a recent scholarly peer-reviewed journal article that is written about empirical research. You may use one of the articles that you already read and wrote about for your annotated bibliography as long as it has empirical research. If you aren't sure, contact your professor or librarian. 
  2. Follow the example (see below) that is provided in your course. Be sure that you follow the directions to only discuss ONE article. You are writing an in-depth analysis of one article that should be about a research study on a business topic.  
  3. Don't forget to use the GSB REQUIRED cover page. 

EBSCO database is recommended for finding an empirical article. 

After you click on the link to access the database then be sure to check the box for SELECT ALL near the top of the screen. 

EBSCOhost choose databases check box for select all

Go to Advanced Search to enter your search terms.  Don't forget to check the box for FULL-TEXT, PEER-REVIEWED, and search only articles within the last FIVE years.  

Then on the left side of your screen look for METHODOLOGY and limit your search results to EMPIRICAL. 

methodology empirical

Video Tutorials