Library Tutorial: Module 5: References Sources

Why you need reference sources

Why do you need reference sources, when so much is available on the Internet?Almost everyone will start with an Internet search, usually using Yahoo, Google, or Ask Jeeves. The problem with that strategy is that there is a lot of wrong information on the Internet, and it is not a good starting point. It is a good resource, but only after you have some background. "You can't go wrong with a good dictionary, even if you think you know the meaning of a word; and a serious encyclopedia will give you important background information. There are also specialized reference books, like chronologies (which list events year by year), biographical dictionaries (which provide short lives of important people), and bibliographies (which point you to other books)." (source: Lynch, getting an A on a paper

Print Reference Sources

Reference books are books you can't checkout of the library. Why can't they be checked out?

• They contain up-to-date information
• They are in great demand
• They have a known, high-quality reputation

Traditional print reference sources are a mainstay item for your professor. When your professor tells you that you need to use reference sources, he or she is almost always refering to the print version, not the online version.

The reference section of most libraries will contain encylcopedias, dictionaries, factbooks, indexes, almanacs, and key "starting points" for your research. When you are not sure where to begin, some of these sources listed here can probably help you.

Types of Reference Materials
In general, reference materials are consulted for specific pieces of information and are not usually read from cover to cover. The most familiar types of reference are:

• Dictionaries
• Encyclopedias
• Almanacs
• Directories
• Hanbooks and yearbooks
• Atlases and bibliographies

Let's take a minute to explore each of these types of reference materials.

 

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Atlases & Almanacs

Common Types of Dictionaries and Atlases

A dictionary defines words or phrases. If you do not understand what your professor meant when he or she used the word "peregrination" or "Le Mer" you could look it up using one (or more) of these types of dictionaries: 

• General – cover all subjects, abridged (shorter version, may not cover all meanings for each word, and may not include more obscure words) or unabridged.
• Etymological – trace the histories of the word.
• Foreign Language – translate foreign words into English i.e. Le Mer = "The Sea".
• Desk – omit archaic terms and place an emphasis on modern pronunciations and meanings of words.
• Slang and Dialect –have definitions of colloquial words, such as "y'all" and "possum".
• Thesauri - contain synonyms and antonyms.
• Abbreviations and Acronyms – list full names/give short forms of societies, institutes.
• Quotations – reprint famous sayings, essays or speeches.

Atlases and Maps there are three types of atlases and maps: current, historical, and thematic. Atlases are collections of maps, and sometimes include supplementary illustrations. Maps are visual representations of a physical area, such as oceans, the universe, and the world.

Examples:

• Times Atlas of the Second World War (historical), REF G1038 T6 1989
• Hammond World Atlas (current), REF G1021 H2665
• Atlas of the Bible Lands (thematic) – religions - commentary) G2230 H3 1959

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

Encyclopedias There are two main categories of encyclopedias: general and subject. They use indexes and “see also' to help the user find the information.

A general encyclopedia covers information that is interdisciplinary and broad in scope. Usually you will find factual answers, general background information and preliminary research information.

A subject encyclopedia covers a single subject and provides in-depth information. Here you may find scholarly coverage of topics within the subject.

Almanacs usually deal with the information of a particular country from a current and historical perspective (may include comparative world history and current data); it contains very practical information.

For example, what if you think the design of one of the flags for the confederate army during the civil war included a palm tree, but your friend thinks it had a snake on it. You could find out by looking in the World Almanac.

 

Handbooks, Manuals, Yearbooks & Biographical Sources

Handbooks, etc.

Handbooks or Manuals are handy guides to a subject; they often include examples or illustrations, or both.

Examples:

• The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
   - REF LB2369.G53
• Publication Manual of the APA
   - REF BF76.7 .P83
• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
   - REF QD65 .H3
• Physicians’ Desk Reference: PDR
   - REF RS75 .P5 

Yearbooks contain facts and statistics for a single year

Examples:

• Facts on File – a yearbook that is added to weekly
   - REF D410.F3
• Europa World Year Book – has summary of or complete constitution for each country and much more - REF JN1 .E85 

Biographical Sources

Direct biographical sources provide the information about the person. Examples:

• Who’s Who
   - REF E663 .W56
• Dictionary of American Biography
   - REF E 176 .D57

Indirect Biographical Sources lead the user to other sources where the information may be found. Example: 

• Biography Index - REF Z 5301 .B5

Directories list people and organizations, supplying contact information – the most well known directory is the telephone book.

Examples:

• Standard & Poor’s Register of Corporations
   - REF HG4057 .A4
• College Blue Book – Scholarships/Grants
   - REF LA226.C685

 

Online Reference Sources

The Nature of Online Reference Collections

Almost everyone has encountered reference books in libraries and knows them as "books that can't be checked out". But what if you find them online? Are they still reference?

A High Quality Online Reference Source should:

• Contain up-to-date information, regularly updated.
• Be in great demand.
• Have a high-quality reputation.

In general, online reference materials are consulted the same way as print reference materials; they contain specific pieces of information and are not usually read from cover to cover. The most familiar types are dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, biographical sources, directories, atlases, and bibliographies.

Dictionaries

Types of Dictionaries

• General – cover all subjects, abridged or unabridged.
• Etymological – trace histories of words.
• Foreign Language – translate foreign words into English.
• Desk – omit archaic terms and place an emphasis on modern pronunciations and meanings of words.
• Slang and Dialect –have definitions of colloquial words.
• Thesauri - contain synonyms and antonyms.
• Abbreviations and Acronyms – list full names/give short forms of societies, institutes.
• Quotations – reprint famous sayings, essays or speeches.

Dictionaries on the Internet

If you are at home, work, or your dorm and you need to look up a word, you can also use an online version of this particular dictionary. The American Heritage Dictionary exists both in print (book) in the library and online (computer file). For the online version, search OCLC worldcat for this title. Then, click the link that says “Connect to this title online' to go to the electronic version of this item. You will go to Bartelyby.com's online version of this dictionary.

The dictionary is searchable but you must be accurate with spelling in order for the computer to retrieve the definition you are looking for. If you do not know the correct spelling of a word, you may want to browse through a print dictionary rather than an online version.