Library Tutorial: Module 4: Library Databases

There are a lot of myths about what is and is not on the Internet. There are also ways to bust those myths - just keep reading, below.

The library databases contain articles on almost any topic you can imagine. The hard part is locating those articles. This Module focuses on helping you understand how to do a basic "keyword" search, as well as an "advanced search" using boolean operators. What are boolean operators - watch the videos, and you will find out!

• Database
• Ketyword search
• Boolean Operator
• Phrase Searching

Introduction to the Library Databases

Myth 1: Everything is on the Internet and it's all "free"?!

FACT 1: You CAN find these things on the Internet:

• Advertising and commercial websites.
• Personal webpages and Social media, like Facebook.
• Some full-text articles using Google Scholar
• Most government documents published by the U.S. Government Printing Office.
• Some free Ebooks but most are fee based.
• Fee-based websites which charge for access to articles and other information.
   

Myth 2:  Everything on the Internet is accurate.

FACT 2: There is a lot of misinformation on the Internet. It is not all correct, accurate or true.

Why is it important to find good quality resources? The old rule of "garbage in = garbage out" really holds true for research and writing. If you have located and read high quality information and then reflected on it, you are more likely to be able to provide a cogent, well thought out paper of your own. On the other hand, if you are using opinion papers and websites written by unknown authors, your arguments may not be sufficient to sway your audience and may in fact leave a bad impression.

Myth 3: It's really hard to locate information using the library's resources

FACT 3: Searching library resources isn't any harder than using Google. And you can refine your search.

1. Select the right database - ask for help if unsure
   
2. Refine your search - by date, by format, full text, or peer reviewed, etc. all with just a few clicks.
   
3. Print or email full text resources, access help with formatting your bibliography, or even have the article read to you (in some databases).
   

Myth 4: There is more information online than in the library's databases.
FACT 4: There are more results, perhaps. But are the results really what you wanted/needed?

What is a Subscription Database? 

• A collection of articles, news reports, magazines, etc.
• They have been collected into one large repository 
• The vendor then charges for access

 How can you decide which database to use?

• Read the summaries for each data base
• Call and ask the library for help if you are not sure
• Ask your professor

Some limiting Factors to keep in mind:

Online databases usually give you access to about 30 years of back-files.

For more in-depth assistance with any database, please contact the reference department; we will be more than happy to help you.