English & World Literature Subject Research Guide: Print Books

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories. The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor. Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library.

Writer's Market
REF PN161 .W83

American National Biography (24 vols.)
REF CT213 .A68 1999

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia
REF PN41 .B4 2008

Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
REF PN2220 .C35 1993

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
(3rd ed 2006 available online at https://saintleo.on.worldcat.org/oclc/858903029)
REF PR85 .C29 1992

Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
(Also available online at https://saintleo.on.worldcat.org/oclc/40298523 and in Gale Virtual Reference Library)
REF PR111 .S24 1999

The Cambridge Thesaurus of American English
REF PE2832 .L88 1994

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works
REF PN1022 .C63 2004

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters (5 vols.)
REF PN44 .M3 1998

Cyclopedia of World Authors (5 vols.)
REF PN451 .M36 2003

Dictionary of Poetic Terms
REF PN1042 .M93 2003

The Elements of Style
REF PE1408 .S772 1999

Encyclopedia of American Poetry (2 vols.)
(Also available online at https://saintleo.on.worldcat.org/oclc/39285700 from Credo Reference)
REF PS316 .E53 2001

The Facts on File Companion to the American Short Story
REF PS374 .S5 F33 2000

Fantasy and Horror: a Critical and Historical Guide to Literature, Illustration, Film, TV, Radio, and the Internet
REF PN56 .F34 F36 1999

Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present
REF PR111 .F45 1990

The Fiction Dictionary
REF PN3355 .H46 1995

Garner’s Modern American Usage
REF PE2827 .G37 2009

Glossary of Literary Terms
REF PN41 .A184 2009

Handbook of Literary Terms: Literature, Language, Theory
REF PN44.5 .K46 2009

A Handbook to Literature
REF PN41 .H355 2009

International Companion Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature (2 vols.)
REF PN1008.5 .I57 2004

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
REF PN81 .J554 2005

Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
REF PR83 .H34 2008

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF LB2369 .G53  2009

A Multicultural Dictionary of Literary Terms
PN41 .C28 2006

The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English (2 vols.)
REF PE3721 .P3 2006

The Oxford Companion to English Literature
REF PR19 .O94 2000

The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English
REF PR471 .O94 1996

The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
REF PR601 .O9 1994

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
REF PN41 .C67 2008

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (61 vols.)
REF DA28 .O95 2004

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (4 vols.)
REF PS21 .E537 2004

The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (5 vols.) (Also available online through Oxford Reference)
REF PR19 .O95 2006

The Oxford English Dictionary; being a corrected re-issue with an introduction, supplement, and bibliography of a new English dictionary on historical principles
REF PE1625 .N53 1933

Reference Guide to World Literature
REF PN524 .R44 2003

A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature
REF PR56 .B34 2006

Right, Wrong, and Risky: a Dictionary of Today’s American English Usage
REF PE2835 .D38 2006

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to English and World Literature may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

P    Language and Literature

PN  Literature (General)

PQ French, Italian, Spanish literature

PR English literature

PS American literature

PT German, Afrikaans, Scandinavian, etc. 

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers