English & World Literature Subject Research Guide: Print Periodicals

How do I find a journal article?

To find a journal article, click on Online Databases or see the "Online Databases" tab above. If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, follow the steps below to locate the article:

A-to-Z Journal List
Log in to the A-to-Z Journal List and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
more...less...
If the journal is available, click on the database, find the year and volume of the journal, and search for your article within the journal. If the journal/article is not available, proceed to the next step: Print Periodical List.
Print Periodical List
Search this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request Form
If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
more...less...
If you are off campus, articles can be emailed or faxed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.

Google Scholar

Can't find the perfect article, or the periodical you need? Try searching Google Scholar! Google Scholar is a great external searching tool that can give you access to articles across the web! You can use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.

Print Periodicals

Below is a partial list of print (hard copy) periodicals and journals that the library subscribes to for research and projects concerning English and World Literature. These publications are located in the Periodicals Section of the Cannon Memorial Library on the main floor. Periodicals do not circulate and may only be used in the library. Note: Many of these titles are now accessible online. Search for the title in the catalog for links.

African American Review
American Literature
Atlantic Monthly (Latest issues online in EBSCO)
Classical Journal
Commentary (1953-2006) Microfilm only
Commonweal
Critical Quarterly
Criticism (1969-2005)
Critique
ELH (English Literary History)
Essays in Criticism
Explicator (Current issues available on online at EBSCO)
Georgia Review
Harper’s
Hollins Critic
Intercollegiate Review
Literary Review (available online at EBSCO and other databases)
Modern Age
Modern Fiction Studies
Nation
New Literary History
New Republic
New Yorker
Nineteenth Century Literature
North American Review
Paris Review
Poets & Writers
Renaissance Quarterly
Sewanee Review
Shakespeare Quarterly
South Atlantic Quarterly
Studies in English Literature
Studies in Romanticism
Studies in Short Fiction (1968-1999)
Studies in the Novel
Studies in Twentieth Century Literature
Times Literary Supplement
Twentieth Century Literature
Wilson Quarterly
Writer
Yale Review

Websites for English and World Literature Periodicals

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476