Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

English & World Literature Subject Research Guide

Searching for a Book?

Ebooks

Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, topical literary criticism and academic research titles, all of which are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

  1. click on this link:  eBooks
  2. select the appropriate resource
  3. log in with your Saint Leo email/portal user name and password
  4. search for a specific title or topic

Credo Reference
Literature:
African-American Writers: A Dictionary
All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer's World
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
Brewer's Curious Titles
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
The Chronology of American Literature
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
Critical Terms for Literary Study
Dictionary of Italian Literature
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Dictionary of Shakespeare, Peter Collin Publishing
The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
Encyclopedia of German Literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature

Language:
The American Heritage® Dictionary of Idioms
Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
The Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases
Chambers Dictionary of Eponyms
Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations, H.W. Wilson
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
Good Word Guide
The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk
Rawson's Wicked Words

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Cambridge Guide to Women's Writings in English
Contemporary Novelists
Contemporary Poets
World Literature and Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works and the Historic Events That Influenced Them (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005) 

ebrary from ProQuest eBook Central
Blackwell concise companions to literature and culture: Concise Companion to Postcolonial Literature
Economies of Representation, 1790–2000
Flesh Made Word: Female Figures and Women's Bodies
Frontiers of Narrative: Emergence of Mind: Representations of Consciousness in Narrative Discourse in English
Indian Angles : English Verse in Colonial India from Jones to Tagore
Jewish Presences in English Literature
Liverpool English Texts and Studies, 49: Catholic Sensationalism and Victorian Literature
On Lingering and Being Last
Oxford English Literary History : 1910-1940 : The Modern Movement
Pocket Essential : London Writing
Poetry &... : Poetry & Geography: Space & Place in Post-war Poetry
Ralahine Utopian Studies, Volume 40: Gazing in Useless Wonder : English Utopian Fiction, 1516-1800
Scarecrows of Chivalry: English Masculinities after Empire
Sexual Cultures : Beyond the Nation: Diasporic Filipino Literature and Queer Reading
Spanish Perspectives on English and American Literature, Communication and Culture, Volume 3: Flaming Embers
Texts and Contexts: Postcolonial Literatures in Context 
The Blind and Blindness in Literature of the Romantic Period
The Professional Ideal in the Victorian Novel: The Works of Disraeli, Trollope, Gaskell, and Eliot 
Transcultural English Studies
Translation/Transnation: The Event of Postcolonial Shame

EBSCO eBook Collection
100 Masters of Mystery and Detective Fiction
100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors and Illustrators: Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies
African American Dramatists: An A-to-Z Guide
American Ethnic Writers
American Historical Fiction: An Annotated Guide to Novels for Adults and Young Adults
The Browser’s Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases
Charles Dickens: The Critical Heritage
The Chronology of American Literature: America’s Literary Achievements From the Colonial Era to Modern Times
Classics of Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Encyclopedia of African Literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism
Encyclopedia of Literature and Science
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
Encyclopedia of the Essay
The Essential Stephen King
An F. Scott Fitzgerald Encyclopedia
Fifty Key Literary Theorists
Gustave Flaubert Encyclopedia
J.R.R. Tolkien Encyclopedia: Scholarship and Critical Assessment
John Updike Encyclopedia
Notable African American Writers
Notable American Novelists
Notable British Novelists
Notable Latino Writers
Notable Playwrights
Notable Poets
The Plays of Shakespeare: A Thematic Guide
The Poe Encyclopedia
Reader’s Guide to Literature in English
Reference Works in British and American Literature
Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms
The Routledge History of Literature in English: Britain and Ireland
Thomas Hardy: The Critical Heritage
A Victor Hugo Encyclopedia
A William Faulkner Encyclopedia
A Yeats Dictionary

Oxford Digital Reference Collection
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Oxford Biblibal Studies
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Oxford Encyclopedia Theatre and Performance

Salem Literature 
Critical Insight (Literary criticism collection)

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect eBook within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to for search eBooks (and print books) across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.