Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

English & World Literature Subject Research Guide

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, it doesn't mean it isnt available at all, it just might not be in the place you are looking. You can contact us for help, or follow one of these tips to locate the resource you need:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a great external searching tool that can give you access to articles across the web! You can use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.

Online Databases and Indexes to Journals

The online databases listed in this section provide abstracts and full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.  (A peer-reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.) 

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email.

EBSCO
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.  After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," put a check-mark next to the databases listed below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.
Academic Search Complete
Book Index with Reviews

Humanities International Complete
Literary Reference Center Plus
MLA Directory of Periodicals

MLA International Bibliography
Newspaper Source Plus (for book reviews)

Florida Electronic Library
A collection of resources for Florida residents, only accessible within the state of Florida.  Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Books and Authors
LitFinder
What Do I Read Next?

JSTOR
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the LRC covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Twayne's Authors, part of the collection, contains the full-text of 200 frequently used Twayne's Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.

ProQuest
Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles, as well as newspapers articles.

Sage Premier
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, medicine and more.

Forgot your user name or password?

Click on the link below to access the Saint Leo Portal.

Then click on "I don't know my User Name" or "I don't know my Password" and follow the directions.