Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

POL/CRM-332 "Terrorism: National & International": Concepts

Library tips & resources for completing the research paper for POL/CRM-332 "Terrorism: National & International"

What types of resources are available?

Online Databases and Indexes to Journals:
Contain abstracts and full text for articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers.

Online Reference Books:
Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online.

Selected Websites:
These websites have been recommended by Saint Leo faculty and librarians.

Print Reference Books:
Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases, directories, etc.  (Located in the Cannon Memorial Library/University Campus)

Print Periodicals:
A listing of print (hard copy) periodicals and journals that the library subscribes to.  (Located in the Cannon Memorial Library/University Campus)

Library Session Objectives

Today's POL/CRM-332 session was designed to introduce you to

library resources that you will likely use when completing your

research paper. As a result of today's session, you will: 

Three Objectives

  1.  Demonstrate proficiency locating statistics on terrorism using STATISTA
  2. Show proficiency in searching Sage Journals to find a full-text article
  3. Create a correct APA-style citation for a Sage journal article

Ten Concepts to Address

RESEARCH-PAPER’s 10 CONCEPTS TO ADDRESS (RUBRIC):

  • What is the Ideology or Political motivations of this Terrorist/Insurgent group?
  • What type of terrorist/insurgency organization is this group: Domestic or International?
  • What type of terrorist/insurgency organization is this group: Typology of the group?
  • What type of terror attack/strategy or threat is being employed? Why?
  • What is the most infamous terrorist attack associated with this terrorist/insurgency group?
  • Who is the most important leader or leadership structure of this terrorist/insurgency group?
  • Are there any international connections associated with this terrorist/insurgency group?
  • What type of Counter-terrorist strategy you suggest is most effective?
  • What type of international Counter-terrorist cooperation strategy is used against this terrorist/ insurgency group (U.S.-Bilaterals; U.S.-NATO; U.S.-E.U.; INTERPOL; EUROPOL; U.N.)?
  • Any domestic legal/political concerns/backlash over Civil Liberties and possible abuse of power?