Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HTY/POL 301 Career Prep and HTY 339: Historiographical Essays and HTY 499/POL 499 Senior Seminar: Strategic Blundering during Vietnam War

Readings in History

National Archives

Vietnam Files, ca. 1966 - ca. 1969

Additional Information About this Series
National Archives Identifier: 39055209
Creator(s): Halperin, Morton H., 1938-  (Most Recent)
From: Collection: Papers of Morton H. Halperin, ca. 1966 - ca. 1969
Details
Level of Description:
Series
Type(s) of Archival Materials:
Textual Records
The creator compiled or maintained the series between:
ca. 1966 - ca. 1969
Arrangement:
Unarranged
Access Restriction(s):
Restricted - Partly
Specific Access Restriction: Donated - Security Classified, Top Secret
Note: Some records have been declassified; other records remain classified due to national security concerns.
Use Restriction(s):
Restricted - Possibly
Specific Use Restriction: Copyright
Note: Some or all of the records may be subject to copyright restrictions. Researchers should contact the copyright holder for further information.
Finding Aid Type:
Folder List
Finding Aid Note:
A folder title list is available in paper form in the reading room and by loan from the Library.
Finding Aid Source:
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library (Austin, TX)
Accession Number(s):
AC 84-086
Scope & Content
This series consists of speeches, memorandums, reports, correspondence, charts, and meeting notes collected by Morton Halperin during his service as Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs. The material reflects topics related to both the Vietnam War and Halperin's job responsibilities of strategic planning and arms control including peace negotiations, bombing, and counterinsurgency.
Variant Control Numbers
ARC Identifier: 39055209
Archived Copies
Copy 1: Preservation-Reproduction-Reference
Extent (Size): 3 linear feet, 1 linear inch
Contact(s): Lyndon Baines Johnson Library (LP-LBJ)
2313 Red River Street
Austin, TX 78705-5702
Phone: 512-721-0212
Fax: 512-721-0170
Email: johnson.library@nara.gov
Count: 7 Legal Archives Box, Standard
Copy 1 Media Information: Specific Media Type: Paper
 

Add a tag...

More ... Less ...
National Archives Identifier: 39055209
Creator(s): Halperin, Morton H., 1938-  (Most Recent)
From: Collection: Papers of Morton H. Halperin, ca. 1966 - ca. 1969
Level of Description:
Series
Type(s) of Archival Materials:
Textual Records
The creator compiled or maintained the series between:
ca. 1966 - ca. 1969
Arrangement:
Unarranged
Access Restriction(s):
Restricted - Partly
Specific Access Restriction: Donated - Security Classified, Top Secret
Note: Some records have been declassified; other records remain classified due to national security concerns.
Use Restriction(s):
Restricted - Possibly
Specific Use Restriction: Copyright
Note: Some or all of the records may be subject to copyright restrictions. Researchers should contact the copyright holder for further information.
Finding Aid Type:
Folder List
Finding Aid Note:
A folder title list is available in paper form in the reading room and by loan from the Library.
Finding Aid Source:
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library (Austin, TX)
Accession Number(s):
AC 84-086
This series consists of speeches, memorandums, reports, correspondence, charts, and meeting notes collected by Morton Halperin during his service as Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs. The material reflects topics related to both the Vietnam War and Halperin's job responsibilities of strategic planning and arms control including peace negotiations, bombing, and counterinsurgency.
ARC Identifier: 39055209
Copy 1: Preservation-Reproduction-Reference
Extent (Size): 3 linear feet, 1 linear inch
Contact(s): Lyndon Baines Johnson Library (LP-LBJ)
2313 Red River Street
Austin, TX 78705-5702
Phone: 512-721-0212
Fax: 512-721-0170
Email: johnson.library@nara.gov
Count: 7 Legal Archives Box, Standard
Copy 1 Media Information: Specific Media Type: Paper
 
Login to Contribute

This Series contains records, some of which may not be available online.
To obtain a copy or view the records, please contact or visit the National Archives and Records Administration location(s) listed in the Contact information below.

Interlibrary Loan

Books from the Library Catalog