Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Writing Support: Writing Resources

Designed by library writing faculty, this LibGuide contains information about the library's writing support service.

Grammarly

Grammarly

Saint Leo has an institutional account with Grammarly.com, an online plagiarism and grammar checker.

Click here to sign up for a free account using your Saint Leo email address.

Online Citation Support

Online Citation Support

Writing Resources by Discipline

General Writing Style

 Booth et al.'s The Craft of Research (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "Seasoned researchers and educators, the authors present an updated third edition of their classic handbook which explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, 'So What?'"

 

 Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Peter Elbow's Writing with Power (E-Book)

 

 

OCLC Summary: "A classic handbook for anyone who needs to write, Writing With Power speaks to everyone who has wrestled with words while seeking to gain power with them. "

 

 

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Eric Hayot's The Elements of Academic Style (E-Book)

 

 

OCLC Summary: "Hayot does more than explain the techniques of academic writing. He aims to adjust the writer's perspective, encouraging scholars to think of themselves as makers and doers of important work."

 

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Helen Sword's Stylish Academic Writing (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "Elegant data and ideas deserve elegant expression, argues Helen Sword in this lively guide to academic writing. For scholars frustrated with disciplinary conventions, and for specialists who want to write for a larger audience but are unsure where to begin, here are imaginative, practical, witty pointers that show how to make articles and books a pleasure to read -- and to write."

 

 Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

 Strunk and White's The Elements of Style (Print and E-Book)

 

OCLC Summary: "Whether you write letters, term papers, or novels, this famous manual can help you communicate more effectively."

 

 

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Business

 Brown et al.s' Writing Marketing: Literary Lessons from Academic Authorities (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "Marketing is a very diverse discipline, dealing with everything from the costs of globalization to the benefits of money-back guarantees. However, there is one thing that all marketing academics share: they are writers. They publish or perish - their careers are advanced, and reputations are enhanced, by the written word."

 

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

 Lomas' Mastering Your Business Dissertation (E-Book)

 

OCLC Summary: "This short book from an international, best-selling author offers a practical guide to conceiving, researching and writing a business or management dissertation."

 

 

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

 Mizrahi's Writing for the Workplace: Business Writing

for Professionals (E-Book)

​OCLC Summary: "Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes.."

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

 O'Gorman and Macintosh's Research Methods for Business and Management: A Guide to Writing Your Dissertation (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "This updated and revised edition offers a comprehensive overview of key research methods and the main choices available when undertaking research in business and management."

 

 

Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Creative Writing

Syd Field's Screenplay (Print and E-Book)

 
 
OCLC Summary: "A step-by-step guide from concept to finished script."
 
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

John Gardner's The Art of Fiction

 
OCLC Summary: "Explains the principles and techniques of good writing, and discusses the seven basic technical matters that beginning writers must constantly bear in mind."
 
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Natalie Goldberg's Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within

 
OCLC Summary: "A collection of essays in which the author explores methods of writing based on her experience in Zen meditation."
 
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Stephen King's On Writing (E-Book)

 
OCLC Summary: "Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer's craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have."
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Ted Kooser's The Poetry Home Repair Manual

 
OCLC Summary: "Contains advice from United States poet laureate Ted Kooser on the art of writing poetry with insights and tools to help writing, revising, and practicing."
 
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Criminal Justice

Ellis al.'s Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology is a core text for criminology and criminal justice research methods courses. It strives to offer a general foundation of knowledge that transcends particular topics or subject areas, allowing students to apply research methods and concepts to a multitude of scenarios.."
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Harrison et al.'s Professional Writing for the Criminal Justice System (E-Book)

 
OCLC Summary: "This user-friendly guide to effective writing for the justice system teaches readers to write cogently and accurately across the spectrum of criminal justice-related disciplines."
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Education

Benjamin's Writing in the Content Areas (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "his book provides strategies and tips to help teachers of social studies, science, art, etc. improve the quality of students' writing and apply national and state curriculum standards in your classroom."
 
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Bromley et al.'s Writing for Educators: Personal Essays and

Practical Advice (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "This book is for new faculty, graduate students, teachers, administrators, and other academics who want to write more clearly and have their work published. The essays focus on writing journal articles, dissertations, grants, edited books, and other writing in educational settings."
 
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Science

Goldbort's Writing for Science (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that todays experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals."
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Silyn-Roberts' Writing for Science and Engineering (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "Learning how to write clearly and concisely is an integral part of furthering your research career; however, doing so is not always easy. In this fully updated and revised edition, Dr. Silyn-Roberts explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more."
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Social Work

Bolton et al.'s Writing Works: A Resource Handbook for Therapeutic Writing Workshops and Activities (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "The use of creative writing as a route to personal development is a powerful therapeutic tool - a fact that is recognized in the growing numbers of workshops and writing groups within professional contexts, including clinical, health and criminal justice settings."
 
 
Note: Also useful for some psychology majors.
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Green and Simon's The Columbia Guide to Social Work Writing (E-Book)

 
OCLC Summary: "This first-of-its-kind guide features top scholars and educators providing a much-needed introduction to social work writing and scholarship. Forgrounding the process of social work writing, the coeditors particularly emphasize how to think about and approach one's subject in a productive manner."
 
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

 

Weisman and Zornado's Professional Writing for Social Work

Practice (E-Book)

OCLC Summary: "This invaluable guide helps social workers develop the writing skills necessary for a successful career. Actual examples drawn from all arenas of social work demonstrate strong and problematic writing. Organized around the core social work curriculum, the book's examples are applicable to every foundation course. Each example begins with field notes and proceeds through drafts to the final version, with explanations about corrections."
 
Click here to view this item in the library catalog.

Writing Support Contact Information

Á.L. Jiménez and J.D. Harding 
 
Ángel Luis Jiménez
352-588-8269
angel.jimenez@saintleo.edu
 
John David Harding
352-588-7576
john.harding@saintleo.edu