Writing Support Resources

About Zotero

What Zotero Does

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Zotero Video Playlist

For More Videos . . .
More videos on writing and research from the Cannon Memorial Library at Saint Leo University

Step 2: Zotero - Setting it up

Using Zotero in Research - Start to Finish

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Getting Started with Zotero

Start:
- Watch the Video 1 on installing Zotero
- Download the Zotero desktop application
- On the same page, install the Zotero connector for your browser
- Watch Video 2 on how to change the settings
- Open Zotero, change settings, then create a yellow folder for your paper or project
Next:
- Go to your favorite library database
- Have your Zotero desktop application running
- Watch the Start to Finish Video
- Search within the database
  - as you find articles of interest, click on the Zotero icon in your browser
  - This will capture the citation and full-text PDF
Next
- Go back to the Zotero application
- Check your saved articles - Double-check the information and capitalization
- If PDFs were part of the database collection, you will be able to open the PDF from Zotero

LIBRARY