Access to Library & University Resources: Oxford Digital Reference Collection

Oxford Art Online
A portal for access to Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference content with multiple resources within one place making resources easy to cross reference.

 

Oxford Biblical Studies
Provides access to six essential Oxford editions of the Bible alongside commentary and annotations from study Bibles seamlessly combined with reference material and primary texts.

 

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd Edition
Contains over 6,200 entries and provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.

 

Oxford Companion to Archaeology, 2nd Edition
Provides coverage of historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the ways the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering of Egyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating.

 

Oxford Companion to American Military History
Widest ranging account compiled into one volume of war, peace, & the U.S. military with over 1000 entries from brief factual pieces to extensive essays. These entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; and covers battles which helped shape American history. Military leaders, antiwar movements, entries that are relevant acts of Congress and on diplomatic policies, and war viewed through disciplinary lenses of anthropology, economics, gender studies, & psychology.

 

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Provides an authoritative survey of the Greek & Roman worlds in all their aspects & offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion, mythology, technology, science, and medicine.

 

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, 3rd Edition
The complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds.

 

Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry, 2nd Edition

 An extensive guide to the lives of influential poets writing in English, in Britain and around the world, illuminating the influences, and movements that have shaped the lives and works of our best-loved poets. It provides over 1,400 thoroughly revised and updated entries on modern poets active from 1910 to the present day. 

 

Oxford Companion to Military History
A complete overview of military history from classical times to the present, The Oxford Companion to Military History is a guide to how the world has been shaped by conflict. Entries on topics such as intelligence, propaganda, tactics, women in the military, and peacekeeping are included, with over 70 maps showing the course of famous battles and campaigns.

 

Oxford Companion to the Mind, 2nd Edition
This work discusses concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle. This book includes entries on attachment theory, caffeine, extra-terrestrial intelligence, and imagination; it also includes three ‘mini symposia’ — on consciousness, brain scanning, and artificial intelligence — with contributions from a range of specialists.

 

Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
Covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.

 

Oxford Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
Includes over 2,500 entries that range over theatre in the last century. It features not only exceptional scholarly entries, but also a series of boxed essays that were written by active professional theatre insiders.

 

Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture

Contains a guide to the broad range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture, including themes, artists, and movements. This dictionary includes entries by over a dozen expect contributors, bringing it up to date for the 21st century. 

 

Oxford Dictionary of Creation Myths
The first and most comprehensive work devoted to creation myths from cultures throughout the world. This work provides quick access to information on the beliefs (both exotic and ordinary) of ancient civilizations from Sumeria and Babylonia to Egypt, Greece, and ancient Rome, from India and China to Japan and Indonesia, as well as the rich mythological history of Native Americans, the indigenous peoples of Australia, and many other cultures.        

    

Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction
This historical dictionary shows the development of science-fiction words and their associated concepts over time, with full citations and bibliographic information. Citations are drawn from science-fiction books and magazines, fanzines, screenplays, newspapers, comics, folk songs, and the Internet.

 

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
An indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church.

 

Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion, 2nd Edition
This work covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world.

 

Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Africa
This encyclopedia presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference in world history, politics, and culture on this region covering prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of African American History (1619-1895)
From the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass this work shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African American History (1896-Present)
This eBook traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
This award-winning Encyclopedia surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing American literary history from the 1600s to the present. It includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia if Ancient Greece and Rome
The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format.

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
This encyclopedia covers the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions, whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature
This encyclopedia includes brief biographies of every major children's author and illustrator. Also included are essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, 2nd Edition
Features numerous cross references and definitions of weather and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study. Over 250 photographs, maps, and charts offer highly evocative depictions of various weather and climate conditions.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
Featuring 450 articles by an international community of 100 distinguished scholars, the Encyclopedia is the definitive account of what we know about the scrolls—their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. The works are viewed in historical, linguistic, and religious contexts, with archaeological evidence providing a clear basis for dating and preservation of the manuscripts.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Evolution
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Readers will find brief treatments on discrete concepts and individuals to illuminating lengthy essays by towering figures in the field.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics

 

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Meso American Cultures
The first comprehensive reference source to chronicle the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era up through the colonial and postcolonial periods. The Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
The articles in this reference source take a broad, comparative, and multidisciplinary approach in dealing with issues that span across a multitude of countries and centuries.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. The text explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature
Covers a vast and interdisciplinary range of material, from ecology, theology, philosophy, and beyond. Entries cover major thinkers, religious traditions, and important events, with clarity and style.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th Edition
Covers important information and topics related to social work.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
The definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Also covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance.        

     

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Is the definitive reference work in this field, as it captures the experiences of women throughout history. Contains more than 650 biographies of influential women, and 600 topical articles.

 

Oxford Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
This resource provides fascinating and authoritative historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.

 

Oxford Guide to the United States Government
This resource contains the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years. The resource also covers the 2000 Presidential race and election, features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, notable members of Congress, and historical commentary on past elections. This work also includes detailed discussions of 100 landmark Supreme Court cases and the major issues facing the Court today.

 

Oxford Handbook of International Financial Terms
This Handbook is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference book on the world of finance. Here you can find out the meanings an array of financial terms, such as a Circus, a Firewall, an Amazon Bond, a Clean Float, a Cocktail Swap, a Butterfly, a Straddle, and a Strangle. There are numerous examples to show how particular calculations and instruments are used; details are also given of acronyms, currencies, and major markets.

 

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Innovative, multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict.

 

Oxford New Encyclopedia of Insects and their Allies, 3rd Edition
An authoritative overview of all the world’s terrestrial anthropods. Written by the world’s leading experts in entomology, the accounts are accessible to both scientific and general readers. Taking each group in turn, from millipedes to mantids and from spiders to scorpions, this volume provides a summary of the current scientific understanding of this fascinating group of animals.

 

Oxford New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians, 2nd Edition
This encyclopedia gives an excellent and authoritative overview of reptiles and amphibians. Brightly illustrated, it manages to combine scientific research with easy to read essays thus appealing to both audiences with general interest in natural history as well as specialists that require accurate up to date reference works.