Sport Business Subject Research Guide: Selected Websites

Key resources in Sport Business

Regulation Soccer Ball

How do I evaluate information on the Internet?

To determine if information found on the Internet is reliable and accurate, try the CAARP test:

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

Authority: The source of the information.

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the information.

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs.

Purpose: The reason the information exists.

Selected Websites

The websites listed below have been recommended by Saint Leo librarians and faculty:

Canadian Women & Sport
Golf Course Architecture
Covers a wide range of golf design issues and feature articles on the business of golf course architecture
Library of Congress: General Guides and E-Resources for the Sports Industry
A guide to resources on business and economic topics
National Association for Retail Marketing Services
Represents the professional merchandising and marketing service industry. Quarterly newsletter, FAQ, press releases, training opportunities,etc.
North American Society for Sport Management
National organization that assists professionals working in the fields of sport, leisure and recreation
SizeUp (Pasco County Demographics Database)
SizeUp your business
Make smarter decisions through data with SizeUp and learn the answers to the burning questions that keep every business owner and aspiring entrepreneur up at night.
Sports Law
Offers an overview of amateur, professional and international sports law
Women Sport International
Work in Sports.com
Search sports jobs and internships

Government Websites for Demographic Information

U.S. Government Data

U.S. Bureau of the Census

http://www.census.gov

Official site of the Census Bureau; can choose data by category or geographic location. Under the Data tab, you will find the following helpful demographic tools: American FactFinder, Census Business Builder , Census Explorer, My Congressional District, My Tribal Area, QuickFacts, and U.S. and World Population Clock

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

http://stats.bls.gov/blshome.htm

Bureau of Labor Statistics official site; collects and analyzes labor economic statistics.Data includes employment and unemployment, payroll, consumer price index, producer price index.Keyword searching is available.

USA.gov

The U.S. government's official Web portal.

Current Population Statistics

http://www.bls.gov/cps/

Conducted by Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Primary source for information on the U.S. labor force.

American FactFinder

https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

Social Security Administration (Office of Policy)

http://www.ssa.gov/policy/

Data available includes total number of SSI recipients, total payments, and age and category, at the national, state, and county levels.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html

Annual government publication contains social and economic statistics for the U.S. and selected international data. Data are retrievable from numerous tables which are divided into subjects such as population, vital statistics, education, energy, and agriculture.

White House Briefing Statements

https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefings-statements/

Good source for locating popular economic and demographic information available from various government agencies.

Vital Statistics of the United States

http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/pubs/pubd/vsus/vsus.htm

National Center for Health Statistics site. Contains data on births, deaths, and life expectancy, and health reports. Searchable by keyword.