Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Political Science Subject Research Guide: Print Reference Books

Key resources in Political Science

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Google Books

Google Book Search

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

Almanac of American Politics
REF JK271 .B343 

American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia
REF E743 .A44 2006

American Nation: Primary Sources
REF E173 .A747 2008 

Birth of the Bill of Rights: Encyclopedia of the Antifederalists
REF E302.5 .W35 2004

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: a User’s Guide to Its Terms (also available as an e-book)
REF JA61 .B43 1999

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
REF JA61 .C665 2009

Constitutions of the World
REF K3165 .M33 2008

Cultures of the States: a Handbook on the Effectiveness of State Governments
REF JK2408 .F79 2003

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (3 vols.)
REF E183.7 .E52 2002

The Encyclopedia of American Political History
REF E183 .E48 2001 
  

Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics
REF BL2525 .D58 2003
 

Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2002 (also available as an e-book)
REF KF4557 .V555 2003
 

Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence (2 vols.)
REF JF1525 .I6 E64 2005

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics 
REF JZ1160 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
REF F1410 .E56 2002

Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms
REF E176.1 .R6 2004

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
REF JK511 .G45 2004

Encyclopedia of the European Union (also available as an e-book)
REF JN30 .E52 1998

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression  
REF E806 .E63 2004  

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
REF KZ4968 .O84 2003 

Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics (also available as an e-book)
REF HQ1236.5 .U6 E52 2008

Ethics in U.S. Government: an Encyclopedia of Investigations, Scandals, Reforms and Legislation
REF JK468 .E7 R556 2001

A Glossary of U.S. Politics and Government
REF JK275 .T46 2007

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (4 vols.) (also available as an e-book)
REF JZ1160 .N65 2002

Historic U.S. Court Cases: an Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
REF KF352 .Z9 H57 2001

Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004
REF G1201.F9 H5 2006

Information Sources in Political Science
REF JA71 .I543 2005

International Law and Politics: Key Documents
REF KZ64 .I576 2006

International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
REF JZ1305 .K34 2008

Justices of the United States Supreme Court
REF KF8744 .J875 2001

The New York Times on the Presidency, 1853-2008
REF JK554 .B67 2009

The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
REF JA61 .O95 2001

The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought (also available as an e-book)
REF JA61 .S37 2007 

Political  Keywords: A Guide for Students, Activists, and Everyone Else
REF JA61 .L48 2007 

The Presidents: a Reference History
REF E176.1 .P918 2002

Safire's Political Dictionary
REF JK9 .S2 2008 
  

The Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments
REF KF8742 .S86 2007

Washington Information Directory
REF F192.3 .W33 

West’s Encyclopedia of American Law (13 vols.)
REF KF154 .W47 2004

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Political Science may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

C     Auxillary Sciences of History

D     Word History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

E     History of the Americas

F     History of the Americas

H     Social Sciences

J      Political Science

K     Law

U     Military Science

V     Naval Science

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers