Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Political Science Subject Research Guide: Online Reference Books

Key resources in Political Science

Searching for a Book?

Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

  • click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources
  • select the appropriate resource
  • log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
  • search for a specific title or topic

Credo Reference
Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, History
CIA World Factbook
Concise Atlas of World History, Andromeda
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
Dictionary of Government and Politics, Peter Collin Publishing
A Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the present
The Dictionary of Human Geography
Dictionary of Politics and Government, Peter Collin Publishing
Encyclopedia of the Viet Nam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Encyclopedia of the European Union
A Glossary of Political Theory
Key Concepts in Political Communication
Palgraves McMillan Dictionary of Political Thought
The Reader's Companion to the American Presidency
U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts
World Politics Since 1945

CQPress Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History

Encyclopedia Britannica Online   

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Africa and the Americas: Culture - Politics - and History
Cold War Reference Library
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd Ed.
Encyclopedia of Modern Europe
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences, 2nd Ed.
Lucent Library of Homeland Security
Lucent Terrorism Library
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 12th Ed.

ebrary/ProQuest's Ebook Central
Conflicts in Social Science
Expository Discourse: A Genre-based Approach to Social Science Research Texts
Method in Social Science
Perspectives on Imitation: From Neuroscience to Social
Science
The Production of Knowledge: The Challenges of Social Science Research
Realism and Social Science
Risks in Social Science
Science and Social Science: An Introduction

EBSCO eBook Collection 
A-Z of Modern Europe Since 1789
America and the World: Major Issues in American History
The American Congress
American Political Scientists: A Dictionary, 2nd Ed.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: A User's Guide to Its Terms
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
Encyclopedia of American Parties, Campaigns, and Elections
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics
Human Rights: A Reference Handbook (Contemporary World Issues)
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
The Illustrated Dictionary of Constitutional Concepts
International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945-1995
Notable Speeches in Contemporary Presidential Campaigns (Praeger Series in Political Communication)
Notable Women in World Government (Magill's Choice)
Privacy Handbook: Guidelines, Exposures, Policy Implementation, and International Issues
Red and Blue Nation? Volume 1: Characteristics and Causes of America's Polarized Politics
The Routledge Dictionary of Politics
World Leaders of the Twentieth Century (Magill's Choice)

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

Google Books

Google Book Search