LIBRARY
DBA 740 Analytics for Decision Making: Case Studies
Analytics for Decision Making
Case Study Definition
"A case study is considered to be a research approach involving the in-depth study of a real-life entity or context having clearly outlined and definitive boundaries. A case study can use a range of research methods and sources in order to gather its information. Equally, it may involve qualitative and quantitative data."
Case studies usually follow this format:
- Introduction that includes background history leading up to the current situation, issue, or problem.
- Current issue or problem, the focus of the research (may or may not involve a hypothesis)
- Analysis of the issue or problem
- Proposed solution
Case study. (2011). In P. Stokes, Palgrave Key concepts: Key concepts in business and management research methods. Macmillan Publishers Ltd. Credo Reference. https://saintleo.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/macbamm/case_study/0?institutionId=796
How to find case studies in library databases
- ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowABI/Inform complete offers business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics and competitive landscape.
ProQuest One Business
After opening ProQuest ABI/Inform database or ProQuest One Business:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Check the box for full text
- You may or may not want to check the box for peer reviewed. There are many case studies in trade journals and scholarly journals.
- You may want to limit the range of years that you are searching in the Publication date.
- Search by company name. You can also browse for a company be choosing Look Up company.
- Choose Case Study from the list of Document Types
- Enjoy seeing your results!
- Contact a librarian if you need help.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Database focusing on industries and company data, including SWOT analysis, industry profiles, and news.
After opening EBSCO Business Source Complete:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Check the box for full text
- You may or may not want to check the box for peer reviewed. There are many case studies in trade journals and scholarly journals.
- You may want to limit the range of years that you are searching in the Publication date.
- Search by company name. You can also browse for a company be choosing Look Up company.
- Choose Case Study from the list of Document Types
- Enjoy seeing your results!
- Contact a librarian if you need help.
Ebooks
Case Study Research for Business by ISBN: 9781446258767Publication Date: 2012-01-01The only case study research textbook written exclusively for students of Business and related disciplines. Using a step-by-step approach, Case Study Research for Business takes you right through the case study research process from research design and data collection using qualitative and quantitative methods, to research analysis, writing up and presenting your work. Key features: - Takes a multidisciplinary approach to case study research design by drawing on research philosophies to improve student understanding of these critical research traditions and hence provide firmer theoretical foundations for their research - Coverage of contemporary topics such as research ethics and access - Packed with practical examples from all areas of business - Pedagogical features include vignettes, exercises and ′cases′ which directly relate to business research Case Study Research for Business will prove a valuable resource for undergraduate, postgraduate and research students of business and related disciplines.
Conducting Case Study Research for Business and Management Students by ISBN: 9781446274170Publication Date: 2018-01-02In Case Study Research, Bill Lee and Mark Saunders describe the properties of case study designs in organizational research, exploring the uses, advantages and limitations of case research. They also demonstrate the flexibility that case designs offer, and challenges the myths surrounding this approach. Ideal for Business and Management students reading for a Master's degree, each book in the series may also serve as reference books for doctoral students and faculty members interested in the method. Part of SAGE's Mastering Business Research Methods Series, conceived and edited by Bill Lee, Mark N. K. Saunders and Vadake K. Narayanan and designed to support students by providing in-depth and practical guidance on using a chosen method of data collection or analysis.
