LIBRARY
QEP - Read, Write, Transform in Interdisciplinary Studies: Health Humanities
QEP - Read, Write, Transform in Interdisciplinary Studies
Resources for Health Humanities
Health Humanities:
Artioli, G., Deiana, L., De Vincenzo, F., Raucci, M., Amaducci, G., Bassi, M. C., Di Leo, S., Hayter, M., & Ghirotto, L. (2021). Health professionals and students’ experiences of reflective writing in learning: A qualitative meta-synthesis. BMC Medical Education, 21(1), Article 1. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12909-021-02831-4 Full-Text
Bjerkvik, L. K., & Hilli, Y. (2019). Reflective writing in undergraduate clinical nursing education: A literature review. Nurse Education in Practice, 35, 32–41. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nepr.2018.11.013 Full-Text 
Carr, S. E., Noya, F., Phillips, B., Harris, A., Scott, K., Hooker, C., Mavaddat, N., Ani-Amponsah, M., Vuillermin, D. M., Reid, S., & Brett-MacLean, P. (2021). Health Humanities curriculum and evaluation in health professions education: A scoping review. BMC Medical Education, 21(1), 568. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12909-021-03002-1 Full-Text
Cronin, C., & Hawthorne, C. (2019). ‘Poetry in motion’ a place in the classroom: Using poetry to develop writing confidence and reflective skills. Nurse Education Today, 76, 73–77. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nedt.2019.01.026 Full-Text
Dahl, H., & Eriksen, K. Å. (2016). Students’ and teachers’ experiences of participating in the reflection process “THiNK.” Nurse Education Today, 36, 401–406. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nedt.2015.10.011 Full-Text
de Swardt, H. C. (Rina), du Toit, H. S., & Botha, A. (2012). Guided reflection as a tool to deal with the theory-practice gap in critical care nursing students. Health S A, 17(1), 1D,2D,3D,4D,5D,6D,7D,8D,9D. http://doi. org/10.4102/hsag.v17i1.591 Full-Text
Deshpande, S. R. (2023). Fifty-Five Word Stories: A Unique Form for Reflection and Creative Expression in Medical Humanities. Medical Journal of Dr. D.Y. Patil University, 16(1), 4. https://doi.org/10.4103/mjdrdypu.mjdrdypu_720_21 Full-Text
Ilcewicz, H. N., Poirier, T. I., & Pailden, J. (2018). Use of mixed-methods approach to assess the impact of a pre-professional health humanities honors course on developing interpersonal skills. Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning, 10(11), 1456–1465. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cptl.2018.08.010 Full-Text
Kim, S., Yang, J. W., Lim, J., Lee, S., Ihm, J., & Park, J. (2021). The impact of writing on academic performance for medical students. BMC Medical Education, 21(1), 61. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12909-021-02485-2 Full-Text
Liao, H.-C., & Wang, Y. (2016). The application of heterogeneous cluster grouping to reflective writing for medical humanities literature study to enhance students’ empathy, critical thinking, and reflective writing. BMC Medical Education, 16(1), 1-11.. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12909-016-0758-2 Full-Text
Lim, J. Y., Ong, S. Y. K., Ng, C. Y. H., Chan, K. L. E., Wu, S. Y. E. A., So, W. Z., Tey, G. J. C., Lam, Y. X., Gao, N. L. X., Lim, Y. X., Tay, R. Y. K., Leong, I. T. Y., Rahman, N. D. A., Chiam, M., Lim, C., Phua, G. L. G., Murugam, V., Ong, E. K., & Krishna, L. K. R. (2023). A systematic scoping review of reflective writing in medical education. BMC Medical Education, 23(1), Article 1. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12909-022-03924-4 Full-Text
Manen, M. van (Ed.). (2016). Writing in the Dark: Phenomenological Studies in Interpretive Inquiry. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315415574 eBook Full-Text
Masuku, K. P., & Mupawose, A. (2022). Students’ experiences of using a writing-intense programme to facilitate critical thinking skills on an online clinical training platform: A pilot study. South African Journal of Communication Disorders, 69(2), 1-7. https://doi.org/10.4102/sajcd.v69i2.919 Full-Text 
Ng, S. L., Wright, S. R., & Kuper, A. (2019). The Divergence and Convergence of Critical Reflection and Critical Reflexivity: Implications for Health Professions Education. Academic Medicine, 94(8), 1122. https://doi.org/10.1097/ACM.0000000000002724 Full-Text
Olmos-Ochoa, T. T., Fenwick, K. M., Ganz, D. A., Chawla, N., Penney, L. S., Barnard, J. M., Miake-Lye, I. M., Hamilton, A. B., & Finley, E. P. (2021). Reflective writing: A tool to support continuous learning and improved effectiveness in implementation facilitators. Implementation Science Communications, 2(1), 1-8. https://doi.org/10.1186/s43058-021-00203-z Full-Text
Peterkin, A., & Brett-MacLean, P. (Eds.). (2016). Keeping Reflection Fresh: A Practical Guide for Clinical Educators. The Kent State University Press. https://muse.jhu.edu/pub/14/edited_volume/book/48253 eBook Full-Text
Rajhans, V., Eichler, R., Sztrigler Cohen, O., & Gordon-Shaag, A. (2021). A Novel method of enhancing students’ involvement in reflective writing. The Clinical Teacher, 18(2), 174–179. https://doi.org/10.1111/tct.13303 Full-Text
Raut, A. V., & Gupta, S. S. (2019). Reflection and peer feedback for augmenting emotional intelligence among undergraduate students: A quasi-experimental study from a rural medical college in central India. Education for Health, 32(1), 3. https://doi.org/10.4103/efh.EfH_31_17 Full-Text
Ribeiro, L. M. C., Mamede, S., de Brito, E. M., Moura, A. S., de Faria, R. M. D., & Schmidt, H. G. (2021). Exploring mechanisms underlying learning from deliberate reflection: An experimental study. Medical Education, 55(3), 404–412. https://doi.org/10.1111/medu.14410 Full-Text 
van Rensburg, G. H., Botma, Y., Heyns, T., & Coetzee, I. M. (2018). Creative strategies to support student learning through reflection. South African Journal of Higher Education, 32(6), 604–618. https://doi.org/10.20853/32-6-2888 Full-Text
Wood, J. (2012). Transformation through journal writing: The art of self-reflection for the helping professions. Jessica Kingsley Publishers. eBook Full-Text
