LIBRARY
MBA 599: Financial Statement Analysis: Resources for MBA 599
Financial Statement Analysis Resources using Standard & Poors NetAdvantage
Databases
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industries, corporate activities, and data on stocks and funds. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Database focusing on industries and company data, including SWOT analysis, industry profiles, and news. - ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowABI/Inform complete offers business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics and competitive landscape.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
Industry codes
Industry codes are used to identify and organize industry and industry sectors. A variety of systems are used, but some of the most common are listed here.
- EDGARThe SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.
EDGAR also provides access to comment and response letters relating to disclosure filings, and reviewed by either the Division of Corporation Finance or the Division of Investment Management. - Census Economic informationYou can find data compiled by the Census including business and industry sectors using this link.
- NAICSThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) - is used in the United States, Mexico and Canada. This system is replacing the SIC codes, but sources may still use SIC codes, either in combination with NAICS codes or alone. Search by keyword, NAICS code or SIC code.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) - searchStandard Industrial Classification (SIC) - system classifies business establishments by their primary type of activity with each SIC code representing a different industry. A company may have more than one SIC code, depending on the diversity of its business activities.
Books
Financial Ratios by ISBN: 9781631573606Publication Date: 2015-12-24Ratio analysis is critical for helping you understand financial statements, for identifying trends over time, and for measuring the overall financial health of a business.
Accounting for Fun and Profit by ISBN: 9781631575129Publication Date: 2016-06-28Accounting information provides individuals, both inside and outside a firm, with a starting point to understand and evaluate the key drivers of a firm, its financial position, and performance.
Financial Statement Analysis by ISBN: 9780471264606Publication Date: 2002-10-15
Non-Government Web Resources
Web Resources for SBUCKS
- Nation's Restaurant NewsThis website claims that it is a "leading resource for business intelligence in the food service industry".
- StarBucks Company timelineCompany timeline