Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

SLU 101 - Lucio: Articles, Journals, Databases

Guide for the Passion Project Research Paper.

Recommended databases

Databases to get you started:

  • CQ Researcher: Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
  • EBSCO: Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text databases. EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: Atla, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO.
  • Proquest: Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles.

Search Hints for CQ Researcher

How to spot a scholarly article

Clue #1: Length of the article. Scholarly articles are generally longer than two pages.

Clue #2: Length and language level of the words in the title and the article. Scholarly articles use specialized vocabulary, typically containing longer words and more complex sentences. As well, they may include statistical or numeric data, charts, tables or graphs.

Clue #3: Includes an abstract. Scholarly articles often include an abstract.

Clue #4: Includes a list of works cited. Scholarly articles always cite their sources and typically have a reference list of some sort, named "References," "Works Cited," or "Bibliography."

----------

(from http://viu.v1.libguides.com/content.php?pid=48558&sid=357993)