LIBRARY
ENG 122: Academic Writing:: Newspapers, Databases & Literature
General education course. Gianna Russo
Newspapers
- The New York Times
- Tampa Bay Times
- Wall Street Journal
Funny hip hop and slam literary videos
- Floe Like Poe--Fun video that uses spoken word and Edgar Allen Poe references.
- your tube HamletSpoken Word Hamlet--funny!
Books in library
The Shape of Poetry by Call Number: PN1059.A9 M45 2008ISBN: 0977808653Publication Date: 2008-05-15Excellent source for understanding poetry.
Recommended databases
Databases to get you started:
- CQ Researcher: Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
- EBSCO: Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text databases. EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: Atla, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO.
- Literary Reference Center Plus It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
- Gale Literature Resource Center: Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. .
An Example
poetry websites
- The Poetry FoundationAn excellent resource for American and international poetry.
- PoetsAn excellent site for finding all kinds of poems.
- Famous Poets and PoemsAnother reputable site for poems.