REL 123: The Parables of Mark's Gospel: Your Assignment

Themes in Mark's Gospel

There are several layers within Mark's Gospel

An introduction to the Teacher, the Miracles, and the Ministry of Jesus
- Jesus's Mission was not simply focused on the Jews
- His care, and commands to care, about others
Foretelling of his death
- His crucifixion
Foretelling of the kingdom to come

How do the parables work to support these themes? In your introduction, take a moment to reflect on one or more of these themese, based on the parable you choose.

Image

Your Paper

You will be writing a two-page, double spaced paper, with normal margins (1 inch). Please use 12 point font, and Times New Roman.

Include:

An Introduction (1 paragraph)
An analysis of the parable's meaning from your perspective (4-6 paragraphs)
- WITH supporting evidence from 2 sources, plus any commentary you would like to include from your Anselm Bible or other biblical commentaries/scholarly resources. REMEMBER TO CITE all sources used, including your Bible (APA format).
A concluding paragraph

You may use 1-2 articles from the library databases (peer reviewed), your Anselm Bible, a resource from the reference area on the first floor of the library, or a print or ebook from the library. Direct Quotes and paraphrases are acceptable; however, no more than 30% of your paper should be direct quoates or paraphrases.

Recommended Print Reference Sources:

Interpreters (or New Interpreters) Dictionary of the Bible (in reference: BS440 .N443 2006)
The Anchor Bible Dictionary (In reference: BS440 .A54 1992)

Recommended Online Reference Sources

Other Reources recommended by your faculty:

America Magazine

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.
ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.