LIBRARY
POL 499: Senior Seminar in Political Science: FDR: FDR & the New Deal
summary
Roosevelt’s New Deal Recovery programs focused on stabilizing the economy by creating long-term employment opportunities, decreasing agricultural supply to drive prices up, and helping homeowners pay mortgages and stay in their homes, which also kept the banks solvent.
Within the first One Hundred Days, Congress enacted 15 major pieces of legislation establishing New Deal agencies and programs. Among the Recovery programs were the National Industrial Recovery Act (NIRA), which “established codes of fair practice for individual industries … to promote industrial growth,” and the National Recovery Administration (NRA). The NRA was one of the most controversial of the New Deal programs because it required government-based industrial regulation. Some of the rules, viewed as pro-union, included “defining labor standards, and raising wages.” (Digital Public Library of America)
-
FDR LibraryThe FDR Library
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences. -
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me." -
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.