LIBRARY
Creative Writing (MA Program): Online Databases/Articles
SLU Online Databases
- All SLU Online DatabasesClick on this link to see a description of online databases available through the Cannon Memorial Library.
- JSTORA digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences.
Can't find the full text of an article?
If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, follow the steps below to locate the article:
Use the A-to-Z List for e-Resources and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database
-
Print Periodical ListSearch this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
-
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request FormIf you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.If you are off campus, articles can be emailed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.
Gale Literature Databases
- Gale Literary SourcesSearch across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Cross-search all of Gale's Literary Resources, including: Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres.
- Literature Criticism OnlineGale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals
- Literature Resource CenterFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- LitFinderLitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more
- Scribner Writers Series on GVRLProvides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations,
and biographical information that places the author and their works. (In Artemis) - Books & AuthorsBooks & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.
- Gale ResourcesA large collection of multi-disciplinary resources. Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, eBooks and journals.
(Once you access this database, you may click on "Databases" or "ebooks" and select your subject area, e.g. "Literature," in the menu on the left.)