Copy of Oxford Digital Collections: Religion

With an easy-to-use A-Z format, this around-the-world tour provides access to information on the beliefs (both exotic and ordinary) of ancient civilizations from Sumeria and Babylonia to Egypt, Greece, and ancient Rome, from India and China to Japan and Indonesia, as well as the rich mythological history of Native Americans, the indigenous peoples of Australia, and many other cultures.

covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics provides in-depth coverage of the political dimensions of Islam and the Muslim world. At no time has the understanding of the nature and implications of these developments been needed more.

The first encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world, this workcontains over 750 articles that focus on the Islamic dimension of the Muslim experience in recent history.

A landmark work in the burgeoning field of religion and nature. It covers a vast and interdisciplinary range of material, from thinkers to religious traditions and beyond, with clarity and style.

This new edition, now with full-colour maps and illustrations, has been thoroughly revised to bring it up to date with regard both to biblical scholarship and to archaeology and topography. The Atlas provides a superb guide to the geography of the Holy Land throughout biblical history, from the Exodus period through to New Testament times. An exciting handbook that needs to be readily to hand for any serious Bible scholar of any age. - Common Ground: Council of Christians and Jews

Whether you see the Bible as the living word of God, or as a highly significant document from the ancient world, or as one of the classic works of world literature, The Oxford Bible Commentary will put in your hands everything you need to study and understand the biblical text.

An excellent reference work, for anyone interested in the Dead Sea Scrolls

The third edition of this unrivaled book focuses on the important changes in academic opinion and church organization within the past few years. Extensively revised and updated, it contains increased coverage on Eastern churches, issues in moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council. New entries have been added on a diverse array of subjects including the ordination of women, the quest of the historical Jesus, and bibliographies.

The Reformation provoked political, social, and cultural transformations that profoundly changed the Western world. Focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation--including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature. Topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, music,the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution, and literacy are imcluded.

Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses.

From the famous to the obscure, this new edition of the immensely popular Oxford Dictionary of Saints provides concise, readable accounts of the lives of over 1,300 saints, more than any similar guide.