Copy of Oxford Digital Collections: Literature & Language

The first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction, this book shows exactly how science-fictional words and their associated concepts have developed over time, with full citations and bibliographic information. It's a window on a whole genre of literature through the words invented and passed along by the genre's most talented writers. In addition, it shows how many words we consider everyday vocabulary-words like "spacesuit," "blast off," and "robot"-had their roots in imaginative literature, and not in hard science.

Complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage.

The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing provides scholars and fans of this genre with an authoritative yet playful compendium of knowledge about a literature known for its highly entertaining treatment of deadly serious puzzles.

This impressive volume provides over 1,500 thoroughly revised and updated entries on modern poets active from 1910 to the present day. An extensive guide to the lives of influential poets writing in English, in Britain and around the world, this companion helps to illuminate the influences,inspirations, and movements that have shaped the lives and works of our best-loved poets.

From the conjectured identity of the Dark Lady of the Sonnets to misprints in the First Folio, from Shakespeare's favorite figures of speech to the staging of Othello in South Africa, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare offers the most comprehensive coverage available on all aspects of Shakespeare's life and works.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature gathers together 350 essays from more than 190 leading scholars on the whole of American literature, from European discovery to the present. At the core of the Encyclopedia lie essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, Faulkner, Frost, and Morrison are discussed in detail with each examined in the context of his or her times.

Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present Includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of significant themes, movements, genres, and institutions.

For much of its history, children's literature has been overlooked or looked down on by scholars. But in recent years children's literature has assumed greater importance, as literary critics, psychologists, anthropologists, and historians have begun to discover what children and parents have known for centuries: that this is a literature of extraordinary richness, depth, and delight. A comprehensive index and a systematic outline make the Encyclopedia an invaluable and easy-to-use research reference.

This is an ideal dictionary for students taking Spanish in combination with a business qualification at college or for anyone doing business in the Spanish-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary--over 50,000 words and phrases--across many core areas, far outstripping the competition in its coverage of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions. The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including Curriculum Vitaes; faxes, emails, and invoices; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.

This is an ideal dictionary for students taking Spanish in combination with a business qualification at college or for anyone doing business in the Spanish-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary--over 50,000 words and phrases--across many core areas, far outstripping the competition in its coverage of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions. The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including Curriculum Vitaes; faxes, emails, and invoices; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.