Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

Daniel A. Cannon Memorial Library: Linking

Work on for our Instiution

Best Practices for Hyperlinks

  • Reuse, Recycle, or add an Asset (link). Maintenance is a lot easier if you practice this! If a change needs to be made, it can be done in one place and all other links will automatically update.
  • Less is best. Users will be overwhelmed by long lists of resource links. Several sources strongly warn against listing more than seven links in succession.  Remember, you don't have to create an exhaustive list - these are supposed to be the top recommended resources, and if they still need help, they should contact you. 
  • Rank by Relevance. Order the databases or resource links by their potential usefulness instead of listing them alphabetically.
  • Include a Descriptions. Customize the explanation as much as possible. Make sure it is clear to the user why this resource is being recommended.
  • Make it Friendly. Use hyperlinked text or friendly urls; do not leave long urls visible on your LibGuide pages.
  • Check the reuse tab to see if the book is already linked on another page
    • Search for the book using the Author & Title OR ISBN
  • Show the cover whenever possible. Visual stimulation leads to higher use.
  • Use the permalink option so that the link will be persistent
    •  

ALL databases are available in the AtoZ list!

Select Add Database

Type in the first 3 letters of the database you are interested in adding.

A list will appear. It might have one choice, it might have more.

Select the database you wish to add.

IF IT IS NOT THERE: call or email Doris.vankampen@saintleo.edu ; (352) 588-8485

 

Customizing Description

You can add a custom description of the database after you select the database.

When you hyperlink within your text, LibGuides cannot gather usage statistics for you, which leads to the question of how useful your link is -- do your LibGuide readers click on it? How will you know?  If it is a link you have added as a link, you will be able to determine that infromation. If it is a linked piece of text inside of your paragraph, you will not know. 

Whenever possible, do not add links within the Rich Text/HTML option.  Add a link instead, using the Add....link option.

Looking for a DATABASE? Use the add.... Database option if you are linking to a resource that is within our alphabetical Databases listing on the webpage. 

If you are linking to a non-database resource, use the Link feature. Whenever possible, reuse existing links.