LIBRARY
PSY 110: Psychological Well-Being: Empirical Research/PsycINFO
picture
Search Hints
- Determine keywords for your topic.
- Check the thesaurus of the database to see if there is more appropriate terminology. (Optional)
- Use "Advanced Search" and enter your keywords in separate boxes.
- Use "Refine Search" to narrow down your results.
- See "Subject: Major Headings" for a breakdown of topics related to your search.
- Check the methodology of the article in the detailed record by clicking on the title.
- Use the icons provided to print/email/cite the article.
Empirical Research
Empirical research reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation.
An empirical research article typically includes the following sections:
- Methods
- Results
- Discussion
The following methodologies are examples of empirical research and therefore, primary sources; the methodology is usually included in the detailed record of an article and can be found by clicking on the title of an article in the database.
- Empirical study
- Quantitative study
- Qualitative study
- Clinical study
- Longitudinal study
Note: A "literature review" is not considered empirical research.
Articles on empirical research can be accessed by completing a search in the library databases, such as PsycINFO & PsyArticles (see link below).
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. It also offers extensive backfile coverage—nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
How to find Empirical Articles in EBSCO/PsycINFO
IF YOU ARE FOLLOWING THE VIDEO BELOW, select PsycINFO instead of selecting all of the databases available in EBSCO.
Need Help?
Contact the library:
- In person
- Phone: 800-359-5945
- Email: library@saintleo.libanswers.com
- Chat (click on chat icon in lower right corner)
Empirical Reserach Article Example
To access this article, you will need to log-in with your user name and password when prompted to do so:
- Irritability and behavioral symptom dimensions of oppositional defiant disorder in young adultsJohnston, O. G., Cruess, D. G., & Burke, J. D. (2020). Irritability and behavioral symptom dimensions of oppositional defiant disorder in young adults: Associations with DSM-5 pathological personality traits. Journal of Psychopathology and Behavioral Assessment, 42(3), 424–435.