Library Archives & Special Collections: Donations of Materials

Donations to the Archives and Special Collections are always welcome. While this list is not comprehensive, it can be used as a guide for items we are interested in obtaining to support and document the life of the University, and its associated alumni. If you would like to talk to us about your time at Saint Leo, please contact us at the email provided below.

Student Life items

• Scrapbooks that focus on Holy Name, Saint Leo Prep, and Saint Leo College activities, students, life
• Individual and group pictures taken while a student at Saint Leo or Holy Name
• Pre-1965 yearbooks
• Silver and Golden Jubilee ephemera, especially collectibles, pictures, scrapbooks, and any newspaper collections
• Alumni recollections and accounts about time spent as a student

Faculty collected or produced materials, all dates

• Books, articles
• Scrapbooks, photos
• Ephemera associated with Saint Leo trips abroad, service trips, and college life
• Accounts concerning the academic life as it relates to Saint Leo Prep or College, Holy Name Academy

Monastic items collected or produced concerning Saint Leo and its connections to men and women religious

• Photos, ephemera, and scrapbooks
• Newspaper clippings
• Written and oral accounts

For more information, please contact Doris Van Kampen-Breit, doris.vankampen@saintleo.edu; 352-588-8485

Policy on Preservation of Original Materials

Archives and Special Collections at the Daniel Cannon Memorial Library shall use its best efforts to protect original materials while they are in the Library’s possession. The library, archives, special collections and all associated personnel shall not be responsible for damage to any loaned or donated materials, as long as the materials have been handled in accordance with standard industry practices. An owner should not loan the Library items that he or she believes may be damaged during the loan, or the digitization process, and, accordingly, the Library has the right to reject certain materials if it believes they may be damaged during their loan period, or by the digitization process.

At the donor’s request, the Library will provide information relating to proper storage of archival photographs, documents, and recordings. To promote preservation and the use of a centralized repository for materials of historical significance, the Library recommends permanent storage of original materials with Archives or Special Collections, as apprpriate.