LIBRARY
EDU 436: Teaching Writing Across the Curriculum: Multi Genre Research Project
Assignment
You will complete a research project about writing in your content area. This project will differ from a traditional research paper because it will explore your topic using at least 6 different genres (2 pre-determined, 4 self-selected). Your textbook (Daniels, Zemelman, & Steineke) has an excellent explanation and examples of multi-genre projects in chapter 9.
books
Teaching Writing Genres Across the Curriculum by ISBN: 9781593114213Publication Date: 2006-01-01This volume showcases the efforts of real teachers using the teaching events from real middle school classrooms. I
Teaching Writing in the Content Areas by Call Number: Full text bookin EBSCO ebooksISBN: 1416602925Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Cooperative Problem-Solving Activities for Social Studies, Grades 6-12 by ISBN: 9781412965798Publication Date: 2008-07-15Give your students the opportunity to think, to discover, and to learn together! The second edition of Catch Them Thinking in Social Studies demonstrates how teachers can use cooperative learning strategies to fully engage students in the social studies curriculum. The authors offer engaging activities and a variety of problem-solving lessons in five areas of social studies instruction
Writing Poetry Through the Eyes of Science by ISBN: 9781845534394Publication Date: 2012-03-30This professional resource shows both English and science teachers how to cross-fertilize the knowledge, skills and methods shared by their disciplines - in particular, the creative, critical and metaphoric thinking skills used in both poetry writing and scientific research.
Literacy + Math = Creative Connections in the Elementary Classroom by Call Number: LB1576 .A61575 2010ISBN: 9780872074750Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Writing in Science by Call Number: LB1585.3 .F85 2007ISBN: 9780325010700Publication Date: 2007-03-21
Science Education K-8 by Call Number: LB1585 .V46 2008ISBN: 9780131992108Publication Date: 2007-07-10
EDU436 Required Components.
Required Components
Your Project must include the following components:
- Title Page
- Table of Contents
- Artifacts
Each of artifacts represents key information about the topic in an original or creative way. Three or more artifacts should effectively use technology tools to communicate the information. The message is enhanced by the technology selected. Each artifact will contribute to a well-developed central idea.
Artifact 1 -- Traditional research essay (3-4 pages) addressing the theory and practice of writing in your content area. It should explain why using writing in any content area is an effective way to help students learn the content; this provides the theoretical underpinnings, and 2) How to use writing in the content area to make learning happen; In other words, what strategies and writing tasks could be used. You will need a minimum of 5 different resources. All research must be cited using APA, and a Works Cited page must be included.
Artifacts 2-5 (Self-Selected Genres)
Next you will select 4 different genres through which to present key concepts of your subject area. These will be models of what you might use in your 5th-12th grade classroom. The artifacts should be designed to be used as models/samples for assignments for your 6-12 students; focus on various aspects of your chosen theme/topic in your subject area
One Rubric developed to adequately measure student performance on completing one of the self-selected artifacts.
Artifact 6
Lastly, you will write a reflective piece (2-3 pages) discussing the process of completing your project and what you learned throughout the process. A detailed description for this project is offered at the end of the syllabus. This long term project will address the Florida State Writing Standards 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9. It will also address the following subject area Competencies and Skills for Middle Grades English: Standards 3, 4, 6, & 7. You will be required to bring to class drafts of each different part of the project throughout the semester, as we engage in the different stages of the writing process, including peer feedback and revision. Please see the assignment description for further directions/details.
Students must upload the Multi-Genre Project into Chalk & Wire by the assignment due date.
Selected Resources
- Writing in Math Class: Grades 2-8
- Responding to Journal writing in Middle Grades Math
- Literacy Instruction in the Content Areas: Getting to the Core of Middle and High School Improvement
- TeenACE for Science: using Scaffolding to support writing
books
Writing in the Content Areas by ISBN: 9781596670020Publication Date: 2005-03-15Do you spend entirely too much time correcting your students' papers? Do your students' essays and term papers take side trips to nowhere? Is their writing riddled with mechanical errors? Do their lab reports and essays lack specificity and clarity? Writing in the Content Areas, Second Edition is for middle and high school content area teachers who assign essays, term papers, lab reports, and other writing tasks to students. This book provides strategies and tips to help teachers of social studies, science, art, etc. improve the quality of students' writing and apply national and state curriculum standards in your classroom. The strategies in this book can be integrated easily into every teacher's daily plans. They will help your students improve their abilities to - reflect before writing - organize and classify - provide detail without padding - use technical terminology correctly - avoid unnecessary words - spell correctly - take useful notes while they read and during your lectures. This book will help teachers - get what they want from a writing task - frame their assignments more precisely - correct student papers more quickly and efficiently The new second edition offers activities and strategies which involve technology (word processing, presentation programming, the Internet, and e-communications), differentiated instruction, and brain-based learning.
Pump It Up by ISBN: 9789463006101Publication Date: 2016-01-01The book contributes to improving teaching and learning in a few ways: first, it provides in-service teachers with step-by-step, ready-to-use strategies that facilitate their students' comprehension and use of content area reading material; second, it aims to help pre-service teachers learn to implement hands-on lessons for their content area; third, apart from strategies offered to the content area teachers in the mainstream, the book also provides teachers of English language learners with strategies that address the literacy needs of their diverse students.
Transforming Writing Instruction in the Digital Age by ISBN: 9781462504657Publication Date: 2012-04-26An innovative, practical guide for middle and high school teachers, this book is packed with specific ways that technology can help serve the goals of effective writing instruction. It provides ready-to-implement strategies for teaching students to compose and edit written work electronically; conduct Internet inquiry; create blogs, websites, and podcasts; and use text messaging and Twitter productively. The book is grounded in state-of-the-art research on the writing process and the role of writing in content-area learning. Teacher-friendly features include vivid classroom examples, differentiation tips, links to online resources, and reproducible worksheets and forms. The large-size format facilitates photocopying.
Teaching Dilemmas and Solutions in Content-Area Literacy, Grades 6-12 by ISBN: 9781452229935Publication Date: 2014-08-27Because literacy is not just the English teacher's job Think literacy is just for English teachers? Not anymore. Nor should it be when you consider that each discipline has its own unique values and means of expression. These days, it's up to all teachers to communicate what it means to be literate in their disciplines. Here, finally, is a book ambitious enough to tackle the topic across all major subject areas. Engage in this cross-disciplinary conversation with seasoned teachers and university researchers, and learn how to develop curriculum and instruction that are responsive to students' needs across English/language arts, science, social studies, mathematics, visual space, and music and drama. Peter Smagorinsky and his colleagues provide an insider's lens on both the states of their fields and their specific literacy demands, including: Reviews of current issues and state-of-the-art research informing literacy education Scenario-based activities for reflection and discussion, typifying the dilemmas and challenges faced by practicing teachers. Considerations of the textual forms and conventions required in each discipline Specific policy recommendations Read this book on your own for immediate suggestions on how to improve literacy instruction within your course of study. Better yet, share it with colleagues and participate in a larger conversation about how your literacy expectations influence the ways students read and produce texts in other disciplines.
Building Academic Language by ISBN: 9781118744857Publication Date: 2014-04-07"Of the over one hundred new publications on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), this one truly stands out! In the second edition of Building Academic Language, Jeff Zwiers presents a much-needed, comprehensive roadmap to cultivating academic language development across all disciplines, this time placing the rigor and challenges of the CCSS front and center. A must-have resource!" --Andrea Honigsfeld, EdD, Molloy College "Language is critical to the development of content learning as students delve more deeply into specific disciplines. When students possess strong academic language, they are better able to critically analyze and synthesize complex ideas and abstract concepts. In this second edition of Building Academic Language, Jeff Zwiers successfully builds the connections between the Common Core State Standards and academic language. This is the 'go to' resource for content teachers as they transition to the expectations for college and career readiness." --Katherine S. McKnight, PhD, National Louis University With the adoption of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) by most of the United States, students need help developing their understanding and use of language within the academic context. This is crucially important throughout middle school and high school, as the subjects discussed and concepts taught require a firm grasp of language in order to understand the greater complexity of the subject matter. Building Academic Language shows teachers what they can do to help their students grasp language principles and develop the language skills they'll need to reach their highest levels of academic achievement. The Second Edition of Building Academic Language includes new strategies for addressing specific Common Core standards and also provides answers to the most important questions across various content areas, including: What is academic language and how does it differ by content area? How can language-building activities support content understanding for students? How can teachers assist students in using language more effectively, especially in the academic context? How can academic language usage be modeled routinely in the classroom? How can lesson planning and assessment support academic language development? An essential resource for teaching all students, this book explains what every teacher needs to know about language for supporting reading, writing, and academic learning.
Genres
Genre – a genre is a category of writing with its own distinctive style, form, and format. These include but are not limited to the following:
- poem
- song
- Bill of Rights
- Constitution or Bylaws
- obituary
- wanted poster
- short story
- brochure
- eulogy
- rap song
- contract
- picture book
- will
- recipe book
- newspaper article
- action figure ad
- monologue
- diary entry
- encyclopedia entry
- campaign speech
- advice column
- interview
- letter
- cartoon
- advertisement
- resume
- speech
- manifesto
- birth announcement
- journal entry
- map
- fairy tale
- myth
- bumper sticker
- memo
- greeting card
- shopping list
- manual
- script/screenplay
- dictation
Technology Requirement
At least three artifacts must effectively use relevant technology tools to communicate the message. Examples of technology tools that may be used:
- tweet
- blog post
- Blogs
- Glogster
- Prezi
- Edmodo
- Animoto video
- Webpage(s)
- Photostory
- GoAnimate
- Museum Box
- SlideRocket
- Micro-Blogs (ex.Tumblr)
- Tagxedo/Wordle
- VoiceThread
- Voki
- Wallwisher
- Scrapblog
- Bitstrips
- PowToon
- Video biography
- Student-created tutorial
- Public Service Announcement