CRM 331: White Collar Crime/Library Instruction: Books and Ebooks

Using a broad definition of white-collar crime that is both sociological and legalistic in nature, Salinger (Arkansas State U.) presents an encyclopedia meant to provide college, public, or high- school library users with legal and historical information about white-collar crime--particularly in the contemporary United States. The 500 or so alphabetical entries cover specific companies and individuals as well as legal and thematic topics which fall under categories such as business fraud and crimes, consumers, countries and regions, criminology and justice, financial and securities fraud, medical and healthcare fraud, political scandals, pollution, products, regulation, scams and swindles, war-profiteering, and work-related crimes. The encyclopedia also contains a brief timeline and appendixes providing a glossary, summaries of laws, and a bibliographical guide to additional research. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

The classic pump and dump -- The power merchants -- Too much of a good thing -- The webs they weave -- Professional pumpsters and financial engineers -- Counting on the upside -- Forgive and forget.

Gray (international management), Larry A. Frieder (financial services), and George W. Clark (organizational behavior and ethics, all Florida A&M U.) begin with a brief survey of corporate scandals from the 18th century to the savings and loan scam in the 1980s, but their main concern is the conditions that encourage such crime and measures that might be taken to stem it. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

YOUR MUST-READ GUIDE TO TECHNIQUES AND STRATEGIES FOR FRAUD DETECTION AND PREVENTION Written by an accountant with over 30 years of proactive fraud-specific auditing experience, this one-of-a-kind, how-to guide provides rare expertise and hard-to-find information on this increasingly staggering and costly problem. As businesses lose over $100 billion a year to fraud with only 20 percent being discovered, the need to be more proactive in detecting fraud is increasingly obvious. Here is the only book available that describes the different types of fraud and then provides proven methods of detection. Breaks fraud into three categories, revealing that the fraud that is usually detected comprises a relatively small percentage of the fraud universe Provides new insights into the nature of fraud and the mind-set needed to combat it Provides proven solutions to how to expose different types of fraud Includes numerous case studies, most based on the author's actual experience, that reveal the real world of fraud, how easy it can be to perpetrate, and how difficult to prosecute Gain the expertise-and the attitude-necessary to step up fraud prevention in both public and private entities, with this comprehensive, clear-headed, and invaluable resource. www.wiley.com/accounting