Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Mathematics Subject Research Guide: Print Reference Books

Key resources in Mathematics

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

101 Careers in Mathematics
REF QA10.5 .A15 2002

A to Z of Mathematicians
REF QA28 .M395 2005

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
REF QA5 .W45 2003

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
REF QA47 .M315 1996

Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences
REF QA21 .C645 2003

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
REF QA5 .C53 2005

Dictionary of Mathematics
REF QA5 .D4988 1999

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
REF QA5 .T34 2005

Facts on File Geometry Handbook
REF QA4445.2 .G67 2003

The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics
REF QA5 .F35 2005

Mathematical Constants
REF QA41 .F54 2003

Mathematics from the Birth of Numbers
REF QA36 .G86 1997

Notable Mathematicians: From Ancient Times to the Present
REF QA28 .N66 1998

Remarkable Mathematicians: From Euler to von Neumann
REF QA28 .J36 2002

Table of Integrals, Series and Products
REF QA55 .G6613 2007

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Mathematics may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

QA     Mathematics

 

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers