Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Fine Arts Subject Research Guide

Key resources in Fine Arts

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

Atlas of World Art
REF G1046 .E109 2004 (located on Atlas shelves by microfilm cabinets) 

British Sculptors of the Twentieth Century 
REF NB468 .B66 2002

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
REF N33 .C575 2001

Contemporary Artists (2 vols.)
REF N6490 .C6567 2002 

The Dictionary of Art (34 vols.)
REF N31 .D5 1996 

Encyclopedia of African American Artists (also available online at ABC-CLIO)
REF N6538 .N5 J44 2009

Encyclopedia of Artists (6 vols.)
REF N31 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Native American Artists
REF N6538 .A4 E94 2008 

Encyclopedia of World Art (17 vols.)
REF N31 .E48

Gardner's Art Through the Ages
REF N5300 .G25 1996 

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
REF N5610 .G76 2007 (also available online at Oxford Reference)

Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre
REF PN2921 .L45 2006 

History of Art (Janson)
REF N5300 .J3 1991

History of Dance: an interactive arts approach
REF GV1601 .K37 2007

The History of the Church in Art
REF N7830 .G5313 2008 

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects
REF NA40 .M25 1982

Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: a Bibliography and Iconography
REF PN2067 .J68 2000

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Fine Arts may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

N       Visual arts

NA     Architecture

NB     Sculpture

NC     Drawing. Design. Illustration

ND     Painting

NE     Print media

NK     Decorative arts

NX     Arts in general

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers