LIBRARY
Fine Arts Subject Research Guide: Selected Websites
Key resources in Fine Arts
Working at the Easle
How do I evaluate information on the Internet?
To determine if information found on the Internet is reliable and accurate, try the CAARP test:
Currency: The timeliness of the information. (Look for and use the most up-to-date information you can find. For scholarly sources, it is best to use information published in the past 10 years unless it is on a historical topic.)
Authority: The source of the information. (Is the source biased? What are the author's qualifications? Is the source reliable and accepted in the industry?)
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the information. (Is the information supported by evidence? Can the source be verified? Can you find this information from more than one source? Does the author cite any other sources?)
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. (Who is the intended audience? Is this source the most relevant possible source for your needs? Would you feel comfortable citing this source in your research?)
Purpose: The reason the information exists. (What is the purpose of this information? Is it designed to teach, educate, entertain, sell, etc.?)
Selected Websites
The following websites have been recommended by Saint Leo librarians and faculty:
- American Museum of PhotographyThis site includes a wealth of photographic images that allow a user to trace the history of photography.
- Archives of American ArtSince 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documentation that supports the study of the history of the visual arts in America. The Archives recently replaced microfilm with digitization to foster the widest accessibility to its collections and oral history interviews.
- Hermitage Museum (St. Petersburg, Russia)Offers digital access to the Hermitage Museum’s collection.
- Library and Archival Exhibitions on the WebSmithsonian Institution
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Metropolitan Museum of Art’s website provides access to thousands of images of works of art. There is also an “Explore and Learn” section on the website that offers information on a variety of art-related topics. Visitors can also create their own galleries by choosing photos of artwork from the museum’s collection.
- Museum of Fine Arts, BostonThe site offers extensive access to major international treasures, as well as reports/essays prepared by experts. This site also covers the Museum School and the National Center for Afro-American Artists.
- Museum of Modern ArtThe MOMA website provides glimpses of recent exhibits and information about the departments of the museum. There is a whole section dedicated to profiling modern artists, often providing full-text articles from recent exhibits.
- National Gallery of Art -- The CollectionThis site provides a tour of the National Gallery and offers a history of the gallery itself. The site also allows visitors to search its catalog—Leonardo—by subject, style, school, artist, theme, and provides access to other sites, study guides, and teacher resources.
- National Museum of Women in the ArtsThis site provides information on the artistic achievements of women of all nationalities and periods. Although broad in scope, the site does offer some specialized information and offers access to many archives and databases.
- Tate GalleryThe Tate Gallery contains the national collection of British art since 1500, as well as some international modern art. Its website functions as a valuable guide to the museum, and details its recent upgrades, renovations, and additions. The site offers access to images from the collection—searchable by artist, as well as audio information taken directly from audio tours offered by the museum.
Additional Online Resources
- ArchNet: Islamic Architecture CommunityDeveloped at the MIT School of Architecture and Planning and the University of Texas at Austin’s School of Architecture in cooperation with The Aga Kahn Trust for Culture, ArchNet is an open library offering insights and perspectives on architecture, planning, and landscape design from the Islamic tradition.
- Art Cyclopedia: the Guide to Great Art on the InternetA digital encyclopedia of fine art information.
- ArtDaily.comBilled as the “1st art newspaper on the Net,” Artdaily provides access to a decade worth of news stories on a variety of art-related topics.
- Mother of All Art and Art History LinksUniversity of Michigan page providing links to art history information and a guide to art history departments.
- Nineteenth Century Art WorldwidePublished by the Association of Historians of Nineteenth-Century Art, this free e-journal covers 19th century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts. In terms of geography, articles published deal with Far Eastern arts, the Americas, Scandinavia, Australia, and Africa, and plans are in the works to include coverage of eastern European artistic achievements.
- NYPL Digital LibraryOnline archive of the New York Public Library's digital collections.
- Petrucci Music LibraryInternational Music Score Library Project
- StructuraeCreated by faculty from Princeton University’s Department of Civil Engineering, this website showcases the art of structural engineering and architecture from around the world. Including nearly 10,000 structures, the site may be one of the largest Internet databases of its kind, focusing on a wide array of structures from pyramids to Gothic cathedrals to modern bridges. Information provided includes images, technical data, and a list of related literature.
- Van Gogh's LettersThis website offers access to the letters of Vincent van Gogh to his brother Theo. The Institute for Dynamic Educational Advancement (IDEA) arranged this collection, translated by van Gogh’s sister Johanna van Gogh-Bonger and Robert Harrison. The letters are indexed by topic, and a chronological calendar of events allows for easy browsing
Library Contact Information
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk
(800)359-5945
(352)588-8477
Text: (852)678-4393
Main Library
(352)588-8476
Website
(800)359-5945
(352)588-8477
Text: (852)678-4393
Main Library
(352)588-8476