Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Communications Subject Research Guide

Key resources in Communication

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print books

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

Advertising Media A to Z

REF HF5826.5 .S848 2004

The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual

REF PN4783 .A83 1994

Business: the Ultimate Resource

REF HD38.15 .B878 2002 (also available as ebook)

The Business Writer’s Handbook

REF HF5726 .B874 2006

Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising

REF HF5803 .C59 2005

Dictionary of Mass Communication

REF P87.5 .039 2006

Dictionary of Marketing Communications

REF HF5412 .G68 2004

Dictionary of Media and Communications

REF P87.5 .D359 2009

Dictionary of Multimedia: Terms & Acronyms

REF QA76.15 .H318 2005

Encyclopedia of Advertising (3 vols.)

REF HF5803 .A38 2003

Encyclopedia of New Media: an Essential Reference to Communication and Technology

REF QA76.575 .E5358 2003

Gender, Race, and Class in Media, 2nd edition

REF P94.65 .U6 G46 2003

Historical Dictionary of Journalism

REF PN4728 .E37 2009

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Communications may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

P  Language & Literature

P87-96  Communication. Mass media

PN4699-5650  Journalism

H  Social Science

HD  Industries. Land use. Labor

HD59-59.6  Public Relations. Industrial publicity

HF  Commerce

HF5717-5734  Business communication

HF5801-6182  Advertising  

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers