Communications Subject Research Guide: Electronic Resources

The Media Handbookprovides a practical introduction to the complete media planning and buying process. In this updated and expanded edition, author Helen Katz explains basic media planning and buying calculations along with the practical realities of offering plan alternatives and evaluating the plan once it has been created. She also covers the benefits and drawbacks of each major media form (television, magazines, newspapers, radio, out of home, and Internet) and examines how media fits into the overall marketing framework, providing insights on how marketing and media objectives are established. Highlights of this text include: *explanations of media research with each media form, showing how research is utilized and illustrating its role in understanding how and why people use media; *charts and tables throughout, with useful statistics on media audiences; *national and local examples to show how media planning/buying occur for local businesses and major brand names; *emphasis on the creativity of the media planning/buying discipline; *checklists in each chapter to emphasize critical points; and *current listings of industry resources and associations. With its emphasis on real-world industry practice, The Media Handbookprovides an essential introduction to students in advertising, media planning, communication, and marketing. It will serve as an indispensable reference for anyone pursuing a career in media planning, buying, and research. cal businesses and major brand names; *emphasis on the creativity of the media planning/buying discipline; *checklists in each chapter to emphasize critical points; and *current listings of industry resources and associations. With its emphasis on real-world industry practice, The Media Handbookprovides an essential introduction to students in advertising, media planning, communication, and marketing. It will serve as an indispensable reference for anyone pursuing a career in media planning, buying, and research.

A truly international, authoritative A-Z guide to five centuries of propaganda, in both wartime and peacetime, which covers key moments, techniques, concepts, and some of the most influential propagandists in history. This fascinating survey provides a comprehensive introduction to propaganda, its changing nature, its practitioners, and its impact on the past five centuries of world history. Written by leading experts, it covers the masters of the art from Joseph Goebbels to Mohandas Gandhi and examines enormously influential works of persuasion such as Uncle Tom's Cabin, techniques such as films and posters, and key concepts like black propaganda and brainwashing. Case studies reveal the role of mass persuasion during the Reformation, and wars throughout history. Regional studies cover propaganda superpowers, such as Russia, China, and the United States, as well as little-known propaganda campaigns in Southeast Asia, Ireland, and Scandinavia. The book traces the evolution of propaganda from the era of printed handbills to computer fakery, and profiles such brilliant practitioners of the art as Third Reich film director Leni Riefenstahl and 19th-century cartoonist Thomas Nast, whose works helped to bring the notorious Boss Tweed to justice. * 60+ biographical profiles of the masters of mass persuasion, from Joseph Stalin, Joseph Goebbels, and Saddam Hussein to Mohandas Gandhi, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, and Malcolm X * Information on dozens of historical and present-day propaganda institutions, including the KGB and the Voice of America * 20+ of the best-known documents and artifacts of propaganda, such as the film Casablanca and the novel Uncle Tom's Cabin * Covers five centuries of mass persuasion across the world from the 1500s to current times

This series helps students explore career options within their field of study. Every aspect of the job search process is covered, including assessing talents and skills, exploring options, making a smooth transition from college to career, conducting an effective job search, and landing the job. Each book is filled with a variety of careers chosen to complement an individual college major. -- Includes sample resumes and job descriptions, salary statistics, and sources for more information -- Provides valuable advice on crafting a resume, networking, interviewing, following up on leads, and evaluating job offers -- Offers the guidance students need to identify a career, find a job, and plan for professional success