Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Chemistry Subject Research Guide

Key resources in Chemistry

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

The ACS Style Guide
REF
QD8.5 .A25 2006  (2 copies also shelved in Reserves)

A to Z of Chemists (Notable scientists A to Z)
REF QD21 .O34 2002 

The Art of Scientific Writing
REF QD9 .15 .E23 2004 

Chemistry : 101 Key Ideas
REF QD41 S26 2001
 

CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis
REF QD78 .B78 2011

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
REF QD65 .H3  (published annually)

Dictionary of Chemistry (Oxford, 6th ed.)
REF QD5 .D4985 2008

Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (4 vols.)
REF QD77 .H37 1999-2003

Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary
REF QD5 .C5 2007 (15 th ed.)

How To Write and Illustrate a Scientific Paper
REF T11 .G86 2008 (also available as an EBSCO e-book)

Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry
REF QD65 L362 2005 

The Merck Index
REF RS51.M4 2013

Named Organic Reactions
REF QD291 .L35 2000 

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
REF QP512 .094 2006 (Rev. ed.)

Van Nostrand’s Encyclopedia of Chemistry, 5th Edition
REF QD4 .V36 2005  (also available as e-book in Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Vocabulary and Concepts of Organic Chemistry, 2nd Edition
REF QD291 .V63 2005

Write Like a Chemist
REF QD9.15 .W75 2008

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Chemistry may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

Q      General Science

QD   Chemistry

R      General Medicine

S      Agriculture

TP    Chemical technology

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.