LIBRARY
UE: MUS 110 OL: Spirituals to Rock 'n Roll Online Classes: What is a Reliable Source?
Music Research Lesson
Link to the Zoom recording of the Music Research Lesson on Feb. 3, 2025 taught by Dr. Christine Woods
Using Databases at Cannon Memorial Library
Where to find reliable source materials for this project?
The Best place to look is in the Cannon Memorial Library. Use the catalog search tool to find books, e-books, and articles on many famous musicians and music topics, or use one of the library databases.
Video Tutorials are posted on the right side of this page (each video is about 3 minutes):
Conducting Research Effectively Part 1 reviews the library website.
Part II reviews searching the library catalog and how to access and use ebooks.
Part III reviews searching the library catalog and how to access and use journal articles.
What is supplied through the library is credible, reliable information. Searching the library catalog or the databases you will find:
- Peer-reviewed and scholarly articles and books.
- Trade articles and books.
- Sources from reputable magazines and newspapers.
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences. - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Recommended Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., on a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. - Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowReference ebook Great Arts & Humanities reference book. Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.