Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Contemporary Approach to Substance Use Disorders and Addiction Counseling by
Publication Date: 2015-01-29
Written as an introduction to the field of addiction counseling, this text covers the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary to counsel people who are struggling with addiction. Drs. Brooks and McHenry provide a straightforward and holistic approach to treatment and recovery, from the major theoretical underpinnings, to assessment and diagnosis, to relapse prevention and spirituality. With a focus on current clinical applications and how-tos, this book is ideal both for master's-level addictions courses and mental health clinicians. Topics covered are cultural and gender issues, including work with LGBT clients; drug classifications and referral; assessment, diagnosis, and interview techniques; the continuum from nonuse to addiction; work in college/university, school, and community/mental health agency settings; developmental approaches in treatment; the role of the family; grief and loss in addiction; group counseling; relapse and recovery; spirituality and support groups; addictions training, certification, and ethics; and the importance of counselor self-care.
Group Work with Persons with Disabilities by
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
This one-of-a-kind manual provides direction for leading groups of people with disabilities or groups that have members with disabilities. Viewing disability as a single aspect of a multifaceted person, Drs. Bauman and Shaw share their insight and expertise and emphasize practical skill building and training for facilitating task, psychoeducational, counseling, family, and psychotherapy groups across various settings. Topics examined in Part I include common themes in groups that focus on disability; various group formats, including groups using technological platforms; issues of diversity that exist simultaneously with ability; group composition; ethical concerns; and training considerations and logistical accommodations. Part II focuses on group counseling with clients experiencing sensory, psychiatric, cognitive, and physical disabilities as well as chronic medical conditions. A list of resources, support information, and group exercises completes the book. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to email@example.com
Counseling Older People by
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
This book provides insight into the primary issues faced by older adults; the services and benefits available to them; and the knowledge base, techniques, and skills necessary to work effectively in a therapeutic relationship. Dr. Kampfe offers empirically and anecdotally based strategies and interventions for dealing with clients' personal concerns and describes ways counselors can advocate for older people on a systemic level. Individual and group exercises are incorporated throughout the book to enhance its practicality. Topics covered include an overview of population demographics and characteristics; counseling considerations and empowering older clients; successful aging; mental health and wellness; common medical conditions; multiple losses and transitions; financial concerns; elder abuse; veterans' issues; sensory loss; changing family dynamics; managing Social Security and Medicare; working after retirement age; retirement transitions, losses, and gains; residential options; and death and dying.
Counseling Skills for Companioning the Mourner by
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
An in-depth guide to the counseling process and establishing a trusting relationship with clients--from a bestselling author and grieving expert Helping people in grief means being an empathetic companion--someone who allows grievers to be experts of their own experiences, who bears witness without judging, who gently encourages the expression of thoughts and feelings. But even if you approach the work with this understanding, how you "are" when you spend time with the griever also has a tremendous influence on your capacity to help. How do you develop a relationship with the griever? How do you show empathy, respect, warmth, and genuineness? Could you improve your listening, paraphrasing, clarifying, perception checking, informing, and other essential helping skills? Whether you are a professional counselor or a lay helper, whether you have years of experience or are new to the work, this guide, based on by Dr. Wolfelt's companioning philosophy, will help you be the most effective grief companion you can be.
Group Counseling in Action by
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
The subtleties of counseling are very difficult to accurately express in written form alone. This is particularly true in the case of group work, where the interpersonal dynamics expand geometrically. A good group counseling textbook, such as the fifth edition ofnbsp;Group Counseling: Concepts and Procedures (2013), can provide a solid foundation, but video demonstrations can illustrate the nuances of the group experience in ways that words alone cannot. To provide just such a video, Kevin A. Fall has filmed a series of segments of a group in which he acts as leader with six participants and demonstrates the stages of a group as it moves from first session through termination. Fall offers regular sections of audio commentary, analysis, and processing on each segment, totaling a 120-minute program. The companion workbook provides additional information to fill in what is not shown on the film and includes exercises, activities, and discussion questions related to each video segment. The video and workbook are designed to work seamlessly with the Berg, Landreth, and Fall text, but they can also be used alongside any other group counseling textbook.
Group Exercises for Addiction Counseling by
Publication Date: 2012-01-25
An indispensable collection of ready-to-use, proven exercises Providing immediately useful group counseling suggestions and tips for addictions counselors, Group Exercises for Addiction Counseling offers powerful techniques that can be adapted to any clinical practice. Written in the author's gentle yet purposeful voice, this reader-friendly resource is filled with guidance for developing an addictions counseling group; handling Stage 2 confrontations of the leader; and building group member awareness. In addition, the author helps counselors enhance client awareness of addiction-related stressors and how to cope with those stressors. Group Exercises for Addiction Counseling contains valuable information on: Addiction recovery Family, relationships, and culture Feelings exploration Group community building Recovery skills Values Opening and closing each group session Fostering care, respect, and honesty in the group counseling setting, the techniques found in Group Exercises for Addiction Counseling allow counselors to help their clients break out of dysfunctional interaction patterns and live better lives.
Growth and Development Through Group Work by
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Examine group work's roots and fundamental beliefs to get a glimpse of the future For more than 80 years, social group work has survived difficult times--a testament to the persistence of its practitioners as well as the strength of its methods. Growth and Development Through Group Work chronicles the evolution of this groundbreaking practice through a collection of peer-reviewed papers presented at the 23rd Annual International Symposium on Social Work with Groups. The book examines practice, policy, and education issues in specific settings and populations from both theoretical and historical perspectives.
Integrating Play Techniques in Comprehensive School Counseling Programs by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Play therapy interventions are critical elements of providing responsive services within the context of comprehensive school counseling programs. Each chapter offers vignettes, a literature review of a specific childhood concern (e.g., homelessness, separation anxiety), pragmatic interventions for the school environment, and a case study to demonstrate application of techniques.
Multicultural Issues in Counseling by
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
This widely adopted, seminal text provides comprehensive direction from leading experts for culturally competent practice with diverse client groups in a variety of settings. Fully updated--with seven new chapters and including feedback from educators and practitioners--this book goes beyond counseling theory and offers specific information and effective techniques for work with the following client groups: American Indians African Americans Asian and Pacific Islanders Latinos/as Arab Americans Multiracial individuals and families Women and men Older adults LGBQQT clients People with disabilities Deaf children and their families Socioeconomically disadvantaged clients Military personnel *Requests for digital versions from the ACA can be found on wiley.com. *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website here. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Treating Women with Substance Use Disorders by
Publication Date: 2016-04-04
Filling a crucial need, this manual presents the Women's Recovery Group (WRG), an empirically supported treatment approach that emphasizes self-care and developing skills for relapse prevention and recovery. Grounded in cognitive-behavioral therapy, the WRG is designed for a broad population of women with alcohol and drug use disorders, regardless of their specific substance of abuse, age, or co-occurring disorders. Step-by-step intervention guidelines are accompanied by 80 reproducible clinical tools, including participant handouts, session outlines, bulletin board materials, and more. The large-size format facilitates photocopying; purchasers also get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials.
Values Clarification in Counseling and Psychotherapy by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This work meets a long-standing need in the helping professions by being the first and only comprehensive book on how counselors and psychotherapists can work with clients around values, goal-setting, decision-making and action planning. Helping clients determine their priorities, set goals, make decisions, and take action to improve their lives are common tasks for virtually all helping professionals when engaging with clients. This is the process known as "values clarification" (or "Values Clarification"). While counselors and psychotherapists widely practice values clarification-some knowingly, others unaware-they typically do so with a limited understanding of its theory, methods and various applications.This book demonstrates, with great precision, case studies, and hundreds of clinical examples, how counselors and psychotherapists in many fields can ask good clarifying questions, conduct clarifying interviews, and employ dozens of values clarification strategies with individuals, couples, families, and groups.
Impact Therapy: Group Counseling -- Essential Skills That Make Groups More Productive
In this recorded workshop, Drs. Ed Jacobs and Christine Schimmel spell out in clear detail what it takes to be an effective group leader in agencies and schools. They open with a brief discussion of how Impact Therapy, which is an active, creative, multisensory, theory-driven approach to counseling, can be applied in groups. They next discuss what they believe are essential group counseling skills. The first set of skills presented are clarity of purpose, generating and building interest and energy in groups, and essential skills for beginning and closing groups. The next set of skills discussed and demonstrated are varying the format, use of eyes and voice, understanding the focus, how to set the proper tone and how to plan effective groups. The last set of essential skills includes cutting off, drawing out, the use of theories in groups, and how to work with individuals in a group setting.
Introduction to Communications: Two-Person and Small-Group Communication
This video focuses on the elements that make dyadic and small-group communication unique. The presentation explains the role of self-disclosure and psychological and social factors in two-person communication while defining small-group relationships and the factors involved in group dynamics, decision making, and problem solving.